Although our building is currently closed for in-person classes, we offer classes online using Zoom technology. Below is a list of classes, when they are
being offered, and links to register.
Zoom is an online communication tool, which allows us to provide classes for you wherever you are in the world. An account is not required to use this
service. You can register for one of our classes by clicking on the Details link to the right of any of the classes, then clicking on the registration link for
the date and time you wish to attend. For help with Zoom, select one of the links below.
- How do I join a meeting?
- Download the App
- Technology requirements for Mobile Devices/Tablets, Windows/Mac
Online Class Offerings[edit | edit source]
Ward/Stake Leadership & Consultant Classes
Stake & Ward Council Leaders: Temple & Family History Work - Mark Van Orden
This class will help stake and ward leaders understand their role in helping to make temple and family history a prominent focus in the life of children, youth, adults and families. Organizational principles on the stake and ward levels will be addressed.
- None scheduled at this time
Temple & Family History Consultant Preparation - Ralph Stephens
The goal is for the Consultants to gain a VISION and understanding of the RESPONSIBILITIES of their calling. A portion of the classes will provide an introduction to INSPIRATIONAL ACTIVITIES.
T & FH Vision and Responsibilities
- Wednesday, November 4, 7:00 PM Click here to register
FamilySearch Basics - Ralph Stephens
Part 1: FamilySearch Intro and Family Tree
This class is an overview of FamilySearch, concentrating on the front page information, account settings, the help menu and navigating in the Tree.
- Wednesday, November 4, 1:00 PM Click here to register
Part 2: FamilySearch Person Page
This class covers how to use the Person page in FamilySearch tree. Please have a family tree established in FamilySearc before attending this class.
- Wednesday, November 11, 1:00 PM Click here to register
Part 3: FamilySearch Records
This class covers how to search for sources in FamilySearch and other sites. Please have a family tree established in FamilySearch before attending this class.
- Wednesday, November 18, 1:00 PM Click here to register
Part 4: FamilySearch Records (continued)
This class is the second part of How to search for records in FamilySearch and other sites. Please have a family tree established in FamilySearch before attending this class.
No Class Handout
- Wednesday, December 2, 1:00 PM Click here to register
Turning Hearts with Memories in FamilySearch - Ralph Stephens
Pictures and stories are a wonderful way of preserving our family history. This class will assist you in learning how to use photos, documents, stories and audio in the FamilySearch program.
No Class Handout
- Wednesday, November 11, 7:00 PM Click here to register
Discovering Descendancy Research - Neal Beecher
Those with pioneer heritage may find it challenging to discover new names to take to the temple. This class will teach you effective ways to find the names of your distant cousins to take to the temple. You should have experience with using FamilySearch before taking this Class.
- Wednesday, November 4, 10:00 AM Click here to register
- Wednesday, November 25, 10:00 AM Click here to register
- Wednesday, December 2, 10:00 AM Click here to register
- Wednesday, December 16, 10:00 AM Click here to register
Individuals and Relationships: Add, Edit & Delete - McKay Hendrix
Using the FamilySearch Wiki – Julie Wilcox
The Family Search WIKI is an amazing but underused resource. It is a free tool for finding information about subjects, records that may have been generated by your ancestors, and places in which records may be found. It is like an online encyclopedia for family history research. Learn how to use this great tool to improve your own research.
- Thursday, November 12, 1:00 PM Click here to register
Finding Duplicates and Merging Records on Your Family Tree – Julie Wilcox
Discover, Gather & Connect
Using Google to Organize Your Photos - Judi Rowe
Manage and organize your photos with Google Photos. Make an Album, Collage, movie animation or photo book. Back up all your photos and have Google Photo sort them by facial recognition, objects or location.
- Tuesday, November 10, 1:00 PM Click here to register
This class is a continuation of the Part 1 Google Photos class.
- Tuesday, November 17, 1:00 PM Click here to register
Writing your Personal and Family Histories – Mark Van Orden
Many members of the Church do not know where to begin in generating their personal or family history. This class will help you get started and teach you the basics on effective ways to write a personal or family history using both text and pictures.
- Tuesday, November 10, 10:00 AM Click here to register
Quick and Easy Family History Activities – Mark Van Orden
This class will introduce you to some quick, easy and fun family history activities that you can do with your family. It is a great way to get started with family history.
- No Classes in November
Indexing - Part 1 - Kathy Farnes
Indexing is a great way to help with family history. Learn how to index data, such as birth and death records, marriage certificates, census documents, etc.
- Wednesday, November 11, 10:00 AM - Click here to register
Indexing - Part 2 - Kathy Farnes
Basic Family Research and Census Records - David Brewer
Country, State, and local census records track the location, family members, and many other bits of information that can often lead to profound discoveries. Learning how to find your family in them can often be a tricky task. We will talk about some of the ways to get the most out of those valuable records.
No Class Handout
- Monday, November 2, 1:00 PM - Click here to register
- Monday, November 9, 1:00 PM - Click here to register
- Monday, November 16, 1:00 PM - Click here to register
- Monday, November 23, 1:00 PM - Click here to register
Discover Family History Through Military Records - Julie Wilcox
Military records can provide a wealth of informtion that can help you get to know your ancestors better and may even provide data found nowhere else. This class will discuss a variety of military records and how to find them.
- Monday, November 2, 10:00 AM - Click here to register
- Tuesday, November 24, 7:00 PM - Click here to register
Finding Death, Burial and Cemetery Records - Julie Wilcox
Can't find a death certificate? This class will help you learn about death certificates and a variety of alternate sources for death and burial records. Each death record tells a story and may provide important clues to help you find and learn about your ancestors.
- Thursday, November 5, 1:00 PM - Click here to register
Five Minute Family History Success - Julie Wilcox
President Nelson has invited us to sacrifice a little of our time doing family history work. Even if you only have a few minutes of time, there are many family history activities you can do. This lesson will show you over twenty ways you can do a little family history every day.
- Monday, November 9, 10:00 AM - Click here to register
Newspapers Are a Genealogical Treasure - Julie Wilcox
Everyone knows obituaries are a family history treasure. This class will help you understand that newspapers can help you learn so much more about an ancestor. We will show examples of news you can find and explain how to find the right newspapers and information about newspaper websites.
- Tuesday, November 10, 7:00 PM - Click here to register
Tips and Tricks for Improving Your Search Results - Julie Wilcox
Finding Your Cousins Through Descendancy Research and Puzzilla - Julie Wilcox
Finding Your Danish Ancestors - Julie Wilcox