User:Lynneallison/Sandbox/Canada, Quebec, Wills

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Canada
Quebec
Access the Records
CID2023269
{{{CID2}}}
{{{CID3}}}
{{{CID4}}}
{{{CID5}}}
{{{CID6}}}
{{{CID7}}}
{{{CID8}}}
{{{CID9}}}
This article describes a collection of records scheduled to become available at FamilySearch.org.
Quebec Judicial District,  Canada
Canada flag.png
Flag of Canada
Quebec map.png
Location of Quebec Judicial District, Canada
Canada.png
Record Description
Record Type Probate
Collection years 1759-1932
Languages English, French
Title in the Language Québec, Testament, 1759-1932
FamilySearch Resources
Related Websites
Archive



What is in This Collection?

This collection includes probate records from 1759-1931.

Images of wills from several judicial districts are included in this collection. In Quebec, records that are equivalent to probate records are part of the notarial records. This includes wills, inventories after death, and guardianship records.

These records are in French. For help with reading the records, see the following wiki articles:


Browse This Collection

You will be able to browse through images in this collection when it is published.

What Can these Records Tell Me?

Wills may contain the following information:

  • Name of deceased
  • Date of death
  • Place of death
  • Age of deceased
  • Name of executor
  • Family relationships
  • Names of witnesses
  • Religious affiliation


How Do I Search This Collection?

Search the Index

You will be able to search this collection when it is published.


For more tips about searching online collections see the online article FamilySearch Search Tips and Tricks.

What Do I Do Next?

I Found the Person I Was Looking For, What Now?

  • Look at an image of the original record. The original may contain information that was not recorded in the index.
  • Use the information found in the will to search for the family in census records.
  • Use the information found in the will to search for the family in church records.
  • Use the information found in the will to search civil registration records.

I Can’t Find the Person I’m Looking for, What Now?

  • If your ancestor does not have a common name, collect entries for every person who has the same surname. This can help you find possible relatives.
  • Search the records of nearby areas.
  • Check for other names. An individual might appear under an unexpected name for a variety of reasons:
- They might have been listed under a middle name, nickname, or abbreviation of their given name.
-A woman may have returned to her maiden name after the death of her husband.


Citing This Collection

Citations help you keep track of places you have searched and sources you have found. Identifying your sources helps others find the records you used.

Below are the proper citations to use for this whole collection as well as for individual records and images within it:

Collection Citation
Quebec, Wills, 1759-1932 Index and Images. FamilySearch. http://FamilySearch.org : accessed 2017.Bibliothèque et Archives Nationales du Québec, Sainte-Foy [Quebec National Library and Archives, Sainte-Foy.


Image Citation
The image citation will be available once the collection is published.


Top of Page

How Can I Contribute to the FamilySearch Wiki?

We welcome user additions to FamilySearch Historical Records wiki articles. We are looking for additional information that will help readers understand the topic and better use the available records. We also need translations for collection titles and images in articles about records written in languages other than English. For specific needs, please visit WikiProject FamilySearch Records.

Please follow these guidelines as you make changes. Thank you for any contributions you may provide.