To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:Leakeyroof/Sandbox/TempX

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Gaston County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Gastonia
Organized: December 21 1846
Parent County(s): Lincoln[1]
Neighboring Counties
Cleveland  • Lincoln  • Mecklenburg  • York (SC)
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaGastonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nc-gaston.png
Adoption
Logonew small.gif This user is a member of NCGenWeb Project, an organization that has adopted some pages in the wiki.

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Gaston County is located in the Southwestern portion of North Carolina and shares a border with South Carolina. It was named for William Gaston, member of the U.S. House of Representatives and justice of the Supreme Court of North Carolina[2].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Gaston County Courthouse
325 N Marietta St
Box 1578
Gastonia, NC 28053
Phone: 704-868-7684

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage and death records from 1913
Land records from 1847
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records[3]

Gaston County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1800 1741 1906 1839 1784

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1874--Courthouse fire destroyed many court records.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1846--Gaston County was created 21 December 1846 from Lincoln County.
  • County seat: Gastonia[4]

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Gaston County, North Carolina:

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

The earliest European settlers of Gaston County were principally Scots Irish, Pennsylvania Dutch, and English. In the 1750s, Dutch settler James Kuykendall and others constructed the Fort at the Point at the junction of the Catawba and South Fork Rivers. The fort was built because of ongoing hostilities with the Cherokee, but it was apparently never attacked. Tensions between the settlers and the Native American inhabitants (primarily of the Catawba tribe) were eased considerably when the boundary dispute between North Carolina and South Carolina was settled in 1772, after which most of the Catawba settled on a reservation near Fort Mill, South Carolina.

Most early farms were small, cultivated primarily by White yeoman farmers of English ancestry. North Carolina's colonial policy restricted the size of land grants, and in Gaston County they tended to be about 400 acres (1.6 km2) each. One of the earliest grants in the area was given to Captain Samuel Cobrin, commander of a local militia company, on September 29, 1750.

Between 1845 and 1848, Gaston County experienced an industrial boom. During this three-year period, the first three cotton mills in the County were established. Some authorities[who?] say that the first one was established by Thomas R. Tate on Mountain Island, near the present site of Duke Energy's Mountain Island Dam and Hydroelectric Station. Other sources say that the first mill was established by the Linebergers and others on the South Fork River near McAdenville. Most sources agree that among the first three mills in operation in the County was the Stowesville Mill, founded by Jasper Stowe and Associates in the South Point Community south of Belmont. Gaston County still leads all other counties in the country both in the number of spindles in operation and in the number of bales of cotton consumed.

(Source: Wikipedia)

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Gaston County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

  • The Bureau of Land Management General Land Office web site has searchable land records for North Carolina.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Ncgaston.png

Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Gaston County for European settlers included:[5]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Gaston County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Gaston County:

- 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company A
- 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company I
- 16th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company M
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Detailed Men, Company B
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company C
- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company E
- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company E

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

County Records

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Gaston-Lincoln Genealogical Society
    PO Box 584
    Mt. Holly, NC 28120
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Gaston County, NCGenWeb genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb project.
  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/gaston
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.