To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:Jnobbie/Sandbox/ Practice 7

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.pngBaxter County

Guide to Baxter County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.



{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Morrilton
Organized: October 20, 1825
Parent County(s): Pulaski[1]
Neighboring Counties
Faulkner  • Perry  • Pope  • Van Buren  • Yell
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasConwayCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-conway.png
Adoption



Baxter County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Baxter County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 24, 1873
County Seat Mountain Home
Courthouse
ArkansasBaxterCourthouse.jpg
Address Baxter County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
1 E 7th Street
Mountain Home, AR 72653
Phone: 870.425.3475


County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Baxter County Courthouse
Courthouse Square
1 E 7th Street
Mountain Home, AR 72653
Phone: 870.425.3475

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, land and court records.[2]

Beginning years for Jnobbie/Sandbox/ Practice 7 government records[3]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1873 1914* 1874 1876 1874
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites[edit | edit source]

County Government and other Local Websites
County-clerk.net (unofficial site) Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records


History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

County seat: Mountain Home [1]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings[edit | edit source]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog


Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Fulton  • Howell County, Missouri Izard  • Marion  • Ozark County, Missouri  • Searcy  • Stone

Baxter CountyFulton CountyIzard CountyStone CountySearcy CountyMarion CountySharp CountyCleburne CountyIndependence CountyVan Buren CountyBoone CountyOzark CountyHowell CountyTaney CountyOregon CountyARBaxter.JPG

Genealogy Resources[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

African Americans[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Online Baxter County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Baxter County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • Find A Grave Click Search for a Cemetery on the right, click All Countries - click United States, click State, click County and search.

More cemetery lists

Census[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Court[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Cothren, Zac. "Baxter County Courthouse," Baxter County history - v. 31-32 (2005-2006) - v. 31, no. 2 (Apr./June 2005).
  • Fleming, Louise. "The good old days in Baxter County," Baxter County history - v. 31-32 (2005-2006) - v. 31, no. 4 (Oct./Dec. 2005).
  • Messick, Mary Ann. History of Baxter County, 1873-1973. Mountain Home, Arkansas:Montain Home Chamber of Commerce, c1973.
  • Andrewson, Jane Messick. "Post offices in Baxter County," Baxter County history - v. 31-32 (2005-2006) - v. 31, no. 2 (Apr./June 2005).
  • Acklin, Emmit Dolan. "Slaves & free blacks in this area 1819-1900" Baxter County history - v. 31-32 (2005-2006) - v. 32, no. 2 (Apr./June 2006).

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Baxter County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [4]

  • 1808 - The Osage relinquished their claims to this area to the United States.
  • Most of the pioneers moving into the area before the Civil War were from Alabama, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee.
  • 1819 - The county’s earliest recorded town was Big Clarkridge.
  • Baxter was not yet a county during the Civil War
  • 1873 - March 24 - Governor Baxter formed Baxter County.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Military[edit | edit source]

Naturalization[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jnobbie/Sandbox/ Practice 7 newspapers in online catalogs like:


Occupations[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
Vital Record Substitutes[edit | edit source]
Finding More Vital Records[edit source]

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Jnobbie/Sandbox/ Practice 7 Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Genealogy Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Jnobbie/Sandbox/ Practice 7
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies[edit | edit source]

Baxter County Historical and Genealogical Society Baxter County Heritage Center
808 South Baker Street
Mountain Home, AR
Telephone: 870.425.2551

  • Their website links to: Sheriffs Biographies; Archival Program, which includes County, Township, and Local Government Records, School Records, Birth, Marriage and Death Records and much more.

Websites[edit | edit source]



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Baxter County, Arkansas
USGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
resources at RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Baxter County, Arkansas
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList (no link for Baxter County) Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Social networking sites pertaining to Jnobbie/Sandbox/ Practice 7
genealogy.com Baxter County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Baxter County Message Board

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 66.
  3. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  4. Jane Andrewson, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, ([1] : accessed 2016 01 07), “Baxter County.”
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.
  6. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.