To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:Jnobbie/Sandbox/Visual Editor

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Nemaha County, Kansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Seneca
Organized: August 30, 1855
Parent County(s): Original county[1]
Neighboring Counties
Brown  • Jackson  • Marshall  • Pawnee (NE)  • Pottawatomie  • Richardson (NE)
See County Maps
Courthouse
KansasNemahaCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Kansas highlighting Nemaha County svg.bmp
Adoption

Kansas city is in Kansas.[edit | edit source]

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description

The County was named for the Nemaha River. The County has Seneca as its seat and the County was created August 25, 1855. Trails History Group, “Nemaha, Kansas Genealogy and History”, The County is located in the northeast area of the state.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Nemaha County Courthouse
607 Nemaha Street
Seneca, Kansas 66538-1761
Phone: 785.336.2146
Nemaha County Website

Fruit Vegetables Nuts Grains



County Clerk has birth, marriage and death records 1885-1911.
Clerk District Court has marriage, probate and court records from 1857. [2]

Nemaha County, Kansas Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1885 1857 1885 1857 1855 1857 1855
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.[4]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Nemaha County, Kansas:[6]

Abraham Lincoln


Abraham Lincoln was a President of the United States.[7]

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

{{Userbox-lang}}

Fruits

  1. Peaches
  2. Pears
  3. Apples
  4. Golden Delicious
  5. Granny Smith
  6. Spartan
  7. Oranges

Nuts

Cashews

Spelt

Almonds

Peanuts

Vegetables

Lettuce

Onions

Carrots

Potatoes

Grains

Quinoa

Wheat

Walnuts

Oatmeal


Languages[edit | edit source]

French Canadian[edit | edit source]

René Lévesque

René Lévesque



Old Irish[edit | edit source]

úr

úr (heather)

molfaidh Sean /ˈmˠɔl̪ˠhiː ʃaːn/ "Seán will praise"


molfaidh Seán /ˈmˠɔl̪ˠhiː ʃaːn/ "Seán will praise"


German[edit | edit source]

Rat fur deutsche Rechtschreibung

Rat für deutsche Rechtschreibung


Spanish[edit | edit source]

'capitan', 'tambien', 'jardín', 'accion', 'comun'

'capitán', 'también', 'jardín', 'acción', 'común'


Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Chicago, Illinois the windy city[7].

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Nemaha County, Kansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kansas Cemeteries for more information

Tombstone Photos of Nemaha County  

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Federal Census Records[edit | edit source]

The 1870 Census was the first Federal Census taken for Kansas after it became a state in 1861.[8] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Kansas Census.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Nemaha, Kansas.JPG

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For more information, see Kansas Newspapers.

Kansas Newspapers Online

Kansas Newspaper Catalogs

Seneca Area Newspaper Archive

Sabetha Herald Archive 1888-2011

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nemahan County, Kansas page 254, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Nemaha County, Kansas. Page 254 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 236.
  4. “Kansas Research Outline”, (Salt Lake City, Utah: Family History Department, 2000), 40.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Nemaha County, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nemaha_County,_Kansas#Communities, accessed 27 September 2017.
  7. 7.0 7.1 Was the 13th President of the United States
  8. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 119.