To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:Jnobbie/Sandbox/Practice4

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Family History Research Wiki

Get genealogical research advice, or learn where to find record collections in our 84,774 articles

Because of my Heritage my main interest areas are Ireland, England and Scotland as my family from Ireland are Ulster Scott's. I would like to help in these areas as well as help in the communities where I have lived as I am able to go to these areas near to me to find info which may be of help for someone else who has heritage from these locations. My husband and I can travel to these locations as they're close by me.

Events below gleaned from Craighead County The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture

  • 1803 (pre) - Some groups of Shawnee, Delaware, and Cherokee moved west of the Mississippi River and through the area.
  • 1811-1812 - The New Madrid Earthquakes of 1811–1812 kept many potential settlers away from northeast Arkansas and induced the few Native Americans there to move elsewhere.
  • 1817 - Immigration to the area began increasing due to allayed fears of earthquakes and the attractiveness of the bounties given to veterans of the Revolutionary War and the War of 1812.
  • 1820 - An act of Congress continued the land bounty program.
  • 1850 - The Bounty Land Act in 1850 allowed for veterans of the Mexican War (1846–1848) to obtain land warrants.
  • 1850 - The U.S. Congress granted the state of Arkansas all swamp and overflow lands, many of which were in the region now included in Craighead County.
  • 1859 February 19 - Crighead County was formed.
  • 1869-1885 - A high incidence of courthouse fires in Jonesboro destroyed many of the county’s early documents.
  • 1906 - Jonesboro’s growth was enhanced with the creation of City Water & Light (CWL) as a municipal utility.


Food
Fruits Snacks Vegetables Nuts Breads
apples potato chips cabbage almonds cupcakes
orange chocolate lettuce sunflower seeds pancakes
bananas poutine onions sesame seeds flat bread
peach corn dogs cucumbers walnuts muffins
Hello
Foods
Snacks Fruits Vegetables Nuts Breads
potato chips apples cabbage almonds cupcakes
dorittos oranges lettuce chia pancakes
fries melon eggplant chestnut flat bread
poutine bananas onions walnuts muffins


United StatesGotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Craighead County

Guide to Craighead County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Craighead County Courthouse
511 South Main Street
Jonesboro, AR 72401
Phone: 870.933.4520

County Clerk  has marriage and probate records from 1878 and tax records. Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records from 1878 and land records from 1900[1]

Government and Related Websites

  • County-clerk.net (unofficial site) — Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
  • PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) — Provides links to County officials and public records

Craighead County, Arkansas Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1878 1914* 1878 1900 1878 1860
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1869,1878 All records were destroyed by a fire in 1869 and again in 1878.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

County seat: Jonesboro [2]

Cities and Towns[edit | edit source]

  • Click FamilySearch Catalog and select the link Places within... for cities and towns (most counties)

Populated Places

  • Black Oak
  • Brookland
  • Jonesboro
  • Lake City
  • Monette
{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Jonesboro
Organized: February 19, 1859
Parent County(s): MississippiGreenePoinsett[2]
Neighboring Counties
Dunklin (MO)  • Greene  • Jackson  • Lawrence  • Mississippi  • Poinsett
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasCraigheadEasternDistrictCourthouse.jpg
Eastern District
ArkansasCraigheadWesternDistrictCourthouse.jpg
Western District
Location Map
Ar-craighead.png
Adoption



History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Events below gleaned from Craighead County The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture

  • 1803 (pre) - Some groups of Shawnee, Delaware, and Cherokee moved west of the Mississippi River and through the area.
  • 1811-1812 - The New Madrid Earthquakes of 1811–1812 kept many potential settlers away from northeast Arkansas and induced the few Native Americans there to move elsewhere.
  • 1817 - Immigration to the area began increasing due to allayed fears of earthquakes and the attractiveness of the bounties given to veterans of the Revolutionary War and the War of 1812.
  • 1820 - An act of Congress continued the land bounty program.
  • 1850 - The Bounty Land Act in 1850 allowed for veterans of the Mexican War (1846–1848) to obtain land warrants.
  • 1850 - The U.S. Congress granted the state of Arkansas all swamp and overflow lands, many of which were in the region now included in Craighead County.
  • 1859 February 19 - Crighead County was formed.
  • 1869-1885 - A high incidence of courthouse fires in Jonesboro destroyed many of the county’s early documents.
  • 1906 - Jonesboro’s growth was enhanced with the creation of City Water & Light (CWL) as a municipal utility.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Craighead County, Arkansas online and in print
Online search for people in the county
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" (on the left), enter a name, click Search
  • Arkansas Gravestones enter a name and click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
Select a cemetery and search it for nearby relatives
Find printed records (Often more complete)
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Stuck, Charles Albert. The story of Craighead County : a narrative of people and events in northeast Arkansas. Jonesboro, Arkansas : C.A. Stuck, c1960.
  • Some Cities and towns may have local histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Click on a neighboring county to go to the wiki page.
Craighead CountyMississippi CountyPoinsett CountyJackson CountyIndependence CountySharp CountyLawrence CountyGreene CountyClay CountyRandolph CountyWhite CountyWoodruff CountyCross CountyCrittenden CountyDunklin CountyPemiscot CountyLauderdale CountyTipton CountyShelby CountyFayette CountyDyer CountyLake CountyARCraighead (2).jpg

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Men in Craighead County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 8th Battalion, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company E

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

  • Arkansas Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites. Includes newspapers for Craighead County.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

  • 1947-1965 - Craighead County Birth Index 1947-1965. Batch C735504 at FamilySearch - free.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Major catalogs for books, microfilm, or collections pertaining to Craighead County

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Genealogy Society Of Craighead County 315 W Oak, Ave, Jonesboro, AR 72401 870.935.5133

Websites[edit | edit source]

Sites with online indexes or images of records

  • ARGenWeb - Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives - Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb - Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Ancestry.com resources

More Craighead County genealogy links

  • Linkpendium - Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList - Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 67.
  2. 2.0 2.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.