To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:Jhankins

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Jerry2019.jpg


My Name is Donald Jerry Hankins, but I go by Jerry. I was born and grew up in the small town of Bishop, California. I had many aunts, uncles, and cousins in the area.  After high school, I went to Junior College and received an AA degree.  About a year after getting the degree I returned to Bishop with a pregnant wife.  I got a job with the mining division a major corporation.  I worked four years of production and then moved into the accounting office for another seventeen years.  During this time three daughters were born into the family.  I received a BS degree in business administration by taking night courses.  When my oldest daughter was thirteen my wife and I separated and I became a single parent raising the three girls.  After the youngest graduated from high school I moved to Santa Rosa, California where I eventually met and married my second wife.  About ten years ago I converted to the church and have held several positions. These included Ward Missionary, Executive Secretary, Assistant to the High Priest Leader and Sunday School President. Currently I am a Family History Consultant and Church Activities Co-Chair.

My hobbies include collecting rocks and polishing them for jewelry.  I also enjoy traveling and photography.  Recently I restarted to collect coins, especially pennies.  I also spend time on genealogy working in Family Search, Ancestry, and My Heritage and have has my DNA tested.

My work experience includes the twenty-one years with a mining company seventeen which were in the accounting office.  There I learned to use a personal computer and many applications.  Most of these were self-taught using a manual because there was nobody who had computer experience.   My experience includes many aspects of accounting and business.  The next four years after I left the area were spent working temporary jobs, mostly with the City of Santa Rosa doing Fixed Asset inventory and other duties.  I received a position with the county Community Services Division working on payments for Section 8 Housing.  Later I transferred to Human Services working on a program for the elderly and disabled.  All of these positions required me to not only learn new programs, but also to transfer information from old programs to new ones.  I am now retired, but still use the computer.  I have been on several boards including Search and Rescue, Treasurer for a local handicapped association, a singles group (before I was re-married), and am the current secretary of the Lake Committee for our Home Owner’s Association.