Finding the England Place of Origin

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


== Parish Task List == OLD LIST WITHOUT ASSIGNMENT COLUMN

County Spreadsheet FMP link
Bedfordshire Not Active
Berskshire Not Active
Buckinghamshire Not Active
Cambridgeshire Parish List Active
Cheshire Parish List Active
Cornwall Parish List Not Active
Cumberland Parish List Active
Derbyshire Parish List COMPLETE
Devon Parish List Not Active
Dorset Parish List Active
Durham Parish List Not Active
Essex Parish List Active
Gloucestershire Parish List Active
Hampshire Parish List Active
Herefordshire Parish List Active
Hertfordshire Parish List Not Active
Huntingdonshire Parish List Active
Kent Parish List Not Active
Lancashire HOLD HOLD
Leicestershire Parish List Active
Lincolnshire Parish List Active
London Parish List Active
Middlesex Parish List Active
Norfolk Parish List Active
Northamptonshire Parish List Active
Northumberland Parish List Active
Nottinghamshire Parish List Active
Oxfordshire Parish List Active
Rutland Parish List Active
Shropshire Parish List Not Active
Somerset Parish List Active
Staffordshire Parish List Active
Suffolk Parish List Active
Surrey Parish List Active
Sussex Parish List Active
Warwickshire Parish List Not Active
Westmorland Parish List Active
Wiltshire Parish List Active
Worcestershire Parish List Active
Yorkshire East Riding Parish List Active
Yorkshire North Riding Parish List Active
Yorkshire West Riding Parish List Done



I do not know the location

[hide]




To find the town where your ancestor lived:


Option A:
If your ancestor was born between 1841 and 1911 use the England and Wales Census.

' - FamilySearch


Option B:


{{Dropdown header|

 Dropdown title=Birth|


Knowing the place of origin (county or parish) in England is extremely beneficial in finding the desired ancestor. The population of England is too large to find an ancestor without, at least, knowing the county. Try the following suggestions:

  • Survey previous research of the ancestor and their family (including parents, siblings, spouses, children).
  • Search records in country of arrival. Some useful records include:
  • Biographies
  • Birth, marriage, death certificates
  • Cemetery records
  • Census records
  • Church records
  • Genealogies
  • Journals
  • Land and property records
  • Letters
  • Military records
  • Naturalization records
  • Newspapers
  • Obituaries
  • Passenger lists
  • Passport Applications
  • Probate records
  • Search records in England. Some useful records include:
  • Localize the surname. Some surnames are more common in certain areas, so checking a surname distribution map may locate the likely region or area an ancestor is from.


After place is located:

Go to England Guided Research to find the vital records of your ancestor.




Online Map  · What is Guided Research?  · Recent Updates




Guía para la investigación genealógica del departamento de DEPARTMENT NAME: registros de nacimiento, matrimonio y defunción, registros eclesiásticos, parroquiales, y del registro civil.

Historia

[1]

Provincias del departamento de DEPARTMENT NAME

Template:Departamento de DEPARTMENT NAME mapa

Registro civil

right|400px

  • [COLLECTION URL TITLE OF RECORD COLLECTION] - Haga clic en el enlace para ver la disponibilidad de los registros.

OR

  • No hay registros en línea del departamento de DEPARTMENT NAME.

Registros parroquiales

  • [COLLECTION URL TITLE OF RECORD COLLECTION] - Haga clic en el enlace para ver la disponibilidad de los registros.

OR

  • No hay registros en línea del departamento de DEPARTMENT NAME.

Censos

  • [COLLECTION URL TITLE OF RECORD COLLECTION] - Haga clic en el enlace para ver la disponibilidad de los registros.

OR

  • No hay registros en línea del departamento de DEPARTMENT NAME.

Cementerios

  • CEMETERY NAME
  • CEMETERY NAME

Citas

  1. Colaboradores de Wikipedia, "ARTICLE NAME," en Wikipedia: La enciclopedia libre, WEBSITE LINK. Visitado el DATE.




www.thegenealogist.co.uk ($) 1841-1911 Index & images
www.genuki.org.uk (free) Links to indexes
www.censusfinder.com (free) Transcripts of some England census records
www.freecen.org.uk (free) 1841-1891 Transcripts of some England census records

https://familysearch.org/search/collection/list#page=1&region=UNITED_KINGDOM_IRELAND


  • Survey previous research of the ancestor and their family (including parents, siblings, spouses, children).
  • Search records in country of arrival. Some useful records include:
  • Biographies
  • Birth, marriage, death certificates
  • Cemetery records
  • Census records
  • Church records
  • Genealogies
  • Journals
  • Land and property records
  • Letters
  • Military records
  • Naturalization records
  • Newspapers
  • Obituaries
  • Passenger lists
  • Passport Applications
  • Probate records
  • Search records in England. Some useful records include:
  • Localize the surname. Some surnames are more common in certain areas, so checking a surname distribution map may locate the likely region or area an ancestor is from.


After place is located:

Go to England Guided Research to find the vital records of your ancestor.




Online Map  · What is Guided Research?  · Recent Updates




NBI 1 img 2.png

This title is centered