User:Hanna5974/sandbox/template Germany topic add-ons

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Hanna5974/sandbox/template Germany topic add-ons

DUCHY sidebar


Ancestry.com, FindMyPast.com, and MyHeritage.com can be searched free of charge at your local Family History Center.

Parish Register Inventories[edit | edit source]

Church record inventories are essential tools for finding German records. They identify what records should be available for a specified parish and where to write for information on these records. They list the church records, their location, and the years they cover. Sometimes inventories explain which parishes served which towns at different periods of time.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

For a comprehensive understanding of cemetery records, study the article Germany Cemeteries.

Germany Nationwide Records Websites[edit | edit source]

Census[edit | edit source]

For a comprehensive understanding of census records, study the article Germany Census.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

For a comprehensive understanding of court records, study the article Germany Court Records.

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For a comprehensive understanding of emigration and immigration records, study the article Germany Emigration and Immigration.


Germany Nationwide Records Websites[edit | edit source]

  • German Emigrant Data Base,covers 1820-1939, main source: New York passenger lists beginning in 1820, supplemented by material found in Germany, ($)

U.S. and German Passenger Lists and Indexes[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

For a comprehensive understanding of compiled genealogy records, study the article Germany Compiled Genealogies.

Bavaria, Pfalz, Hannover, Lubeck, Wurttemberg

Major Online Collections and Databases[edit | edit source]

The Family History Library has several sources that contain previous research or that can lead you to other people who are interested in sharing family information. These sources include many ancestral lines that extend into Germany:

  • International Genealogical Index: This index provides names and vital information for over 25 million deceased persons who lived in Germany. This valuable research tool lists birth, baptism, or marriage dates. The index for Germany includes names extracted from parish registers by volunteers and names submitted by other researchers. You can filter on one of eight German states and filter Germany, Miscellaneous:
  • Alsace-Lorraine
  • Baden
  • Bayern
  • Hesse-Darmstadt
  • Prussia
  • Sachsen
  • Thuringen
  • Wuerttemberg
  • Filtering on Germany, Miscellaeous.includes only the small states and free cities of:
  • Anhalt
  • Braunschweig
  • Bremen
  • Hamburg
  • Lippe
  • Lübeck
  • Mecklenburg
  • Oldenburg
  • Schaumburg-Lippe
  • Waldeck
  • GEDBAS and the Metasearch at Compgen.de have searchable links to many genealogical collections.

Town Genealogy Books (Ortssippenbücher)[edit | edit source]

An Ortssippenbuch (town lineage book) or Ortsfamilienbuch (town family book) includes birth, marriage, and death data for all persons found in the local records during a specified time period, compiled into families. Sources may include the local parish registers, civil registration records, court and land records, and sometimes published material. In the printed book, this information is then arranged in a standardized format, usually alphabetically by surname and chronologically by marriage date. Family entries are identified by sequential numbers. Town genealogies are known by various names, including “town lineage book,” “local heritage book,” “one-place-studies,” “Ortssippenbuch (OSB),” and “Ortsfamilienbuch (OFB).” This article will use the term “town genealogy” and the abbreviation OFB when referring to compilations that include all or a large part of a town’s population.

Jewish Records[edit | edit source]

Land & Property[edit | edit source]

For a comprehensive understanding of land and property records, study the article Germany Land and Property.

Local Records[edit | edit source]

Manumission[edit | edit source]

None

Military Records[edit | edit source]

For a comprehensive understanding of military records, study the article Germany Military Records.


Germany Nationwide Records Websites[edit | edit source]

Service Records[edit | edit source]

Casualty Records[edit | edit source]

Prisoners of War[edit | edit source]

Cemetery Records

World War II, 1939 to 1945[edit | edit source]

1939-1945: World War II. Many German records were destroyed.

Prisoner of War Records[edit | edit source]

Cemetery Records[edit | edit source]

Naturalization & Citizenship[edit | edit source]

For a comprehensive understanding of naturalization and citizenship records, study the article Germany Naturalization and Citizenship.

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

For a comprehensive understanding of obituary records, study the article Germany Obituaries.

Germany Occupations[edit | edit source]

For a comprehensive understanding of occupation records, study the article Germany Occupations.

Ortssippenbücher[edit | edit source]

For a comprehensive understanding of town genealogies, study the article Germany Town Genealogies and Parish Register Inventories on the Internet.

Caution sign.png

Compiled genealogies and published genealogies are secondary sources, not original or primary sources.

As such, they are subject to human error through translation or transcription errors, mistaken interpretations, and opinion decisions of another researcher.

You should make every effort to base your research on the actual, original records or their digitized images.

Town Genealogies (Ortssippenbuch or Ortsfamilienbuch)[edit | edit source]

See the class, Online Ortsfamilienbücher at Genealogy.net, and Wiki article, Germany Town Genealogies and Parish Register Inventories on the Internet. Published town genealogies, Ortssippenbuch (town lineage book) or Ortsfamilienbuch (town family book), generally include birth, marriage, and death data for all persons found in the local records during a specified time period, compiled into families based on the opinion of the author. If one is available, it should only be used as an index or guide to finding the original records. They usually contain errors. Always verify their information in original records.

Finding OFBs[edit | edit source]

  • Click here to see OFBs at GenWiki. These are indexed and searchable. OFB Instructions.
  • A bibliography of OFBs held by the Central Office for Person and Family History, and available in their archive in Frankfurt am Main-Höchst, is listed here. You can arrange for copied pages to be sent to you for a fee or donation. Use the "Find" function on your keyboard to search the bibliographies, as they are not alphabetical.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

For a comprehensive understanding of periodicals, study the article Germany Periodicals.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

None

Religious Records[edit | edit source]

None

School Records[edit | edit source]

None

Background[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

Church Directories[edit | edit source]

Church History[edit | edit source]

Former German Areas[edit | edit source]

Funerary Customs[edit | edit source]

Cultural Areas[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

For a more comprehensive understanding of gazetteers, study the article Germany Gazetteers.

Germany Nationwide Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

The Family History Library uses one gazetteer as the standard guide for listing German places in the catalog. Regardless of the various jurisdictions a place may have been under at different times, all German places are listed by the jurisdictions used in the following reference:

Uetrecht, E. Meyers Orts- und Verkehrs-Lexikon des Deutschen Reichs(Meyers Place- and Traffic directory of the German Empire). Fifth Edition. Leipzig, Germany: Bibliographisches Institute, 1912-3. (FHL book Ref 943 E5mo; films 496,640-1; fiche 6,000,001-29.)

Meyer's gazetteer (often referred to as Meyers Orts) lists the names of places as they existed in Germany from 1871 to 1912. It gives the name of the state or province where each town was located at that time. The gazetteer is written in Gothic print, which can be hard to read.

Meyer's gazetteer is available in digital form.

Kartenmeister.com[edit | edit source]

For the provinces of East Prussia (Ostpreussen), Posen, Pomerania (Pommern), Silesia (Schlesien), parts of Brandenburg, and West Prussia (Westpreussen), areas which no longer belong to Germany, the online gazetteer Kartenmeister most efficiently tells you parish information:

Example:

Kartenmeister Search Engine



To use Kartenmeister, simply enter the German name of the town in the search field.

Kartenmeister search.png

A Typical Kartenmeister Record



The most important information points here are the

name of the Lutheran parish, the name of the Catholic parish, and the location of the civil registry office (Standesamt):



Kartenmeister entry.png

German Genealogical Word List[edit | edit source]

Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Historical Geography[edit | edit source]

For a more comprehensive understanding of historical geography, study the article Germany Historical Geography.

History[edit | edit source]

For a more comprehensive understanding of German history, study the article Germany History.

Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]

Languages[edit | edit source]

Letter Writing Guide[edit | edit source]

Maps[edit | edit source]

For a comprehensive understanding of maps, study the article Germany Maps.


Germany Nationwide Maps[edit | edit source]

  • Ravenstein's Atlas of the German Empire covers Germany as it existed between 1871 and 1914. The maps and accompanying gazetteer from the University of Wisconsin Libraries can be downloaded in sections. Once downloaded, each colored map can be enlarged to show details. Localities are charted down to the parish level.
  • Königliche Preußische Landesaufnahme. Kartographische Abteilung. Karte des Deutschen Reiches (Map of the German Empire). Scale1:100,000. Berlin, Germany: Königliche PreußischeLandesaufnahme, 1914-1917. (FHL film 68,814.) This map will help you find places in the former German Empire as they existed from 1871 to 1914. The detailed maps on this microfilm are in numerical order. A digital verson of this map is available on www.ancestry.com at this link. You can also search the Ancestry card catalog for the term "Ubersichtsblatt" to get to the map set.

Names Personal[edit | edit source]

Nobility[edit | edit source]

For a comprehensive understanding of nobility records, study the article Germany Nobility.


Germany Nationwide Records Links[edit | edit source]


Websites[edit | edit source]

Ethnicity[edit | edit source]

French Influence[edit | edit source]

Germans from Russia Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Minorities[edit | edit source]