User:Gsisam

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Riverton FamilySearch Library Outreach Class Schedule

Riverton FamilySearch
Library Menu

3740 West Market Center Drive
(13175 South)

Riverton, Utah 84065-8026
801-240-9601


OPEN
Monday and Friday
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday
9:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Saturday
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Closed on Sunday


Home
Location and Directions
Contact Information and Lost & Found
Hours and Holiday Schedule
Classes and Class Schedules
Quick Start Guides and Class Handouts
Group Visits
Saturday Seminar
Family Discovery Day
Family Reunions * NEW *
Youth Conference
Family Story Room
Boy Scout Workshop
Outreach Class Schedule
Microfilm
Resources * New Items Available *
Research Specialists
Missionary Opportunities

RFSL Handouts Page.jpg


Printable September Calendar
Printable October (tentative) Calendar

To print or download the schedule use the Google file menu in the upper left hand corner of the document, not the browser's file menu.

For daily class information call 801-240-9601.

Do You Need Help with Family Tree?

If you would like specific help on any of the basic features of Family Tree, ask at the Welcome Desk or Help Desk for a staff member to help you.

Walk-in Classes

FamilySearch Family Tree

These classes teach the basic fundamentals of using Family Tree features at FamilySearch.org.

Lecture and Hands-on Practice - Presented by Linda Baker - No registration necessary.

  • 3:00 - 4:30 p.m. Mondays - Library Training Room 1
  • 1:00 - 2:30 p.m. Mondays - Library Training Room 1

Sep 12: Week 2 “Finding, Adding and Correcting Information”

Sep 19: Week 3 “Using 'My Source Box' and FamilySearch.org Sources”

Sep 26: Week 4 “Creating and Attaching Outside Sources”     

  • 7:00 - 8:30 p.m. Wednesdays - Library Training Room 1

Sep 07: Week 3 “Using 'My Source Box' and FamilySearch.org Sources”

Sep 14  Cancelled

Sep 21: Week 4 “Creating and Attaching Outside Sources”  

Sep 28:  Week 5 “Preparing Names for Temple Ordinances”

FamilySearch Family Tree in Spanish

These classes teach the basic fundamentals of using Family Tree features at FamilySearch.org in Spanish.

Lecture and Hands-on-Practice - Presented by Stan Radford - No registration necessary.

Sep 08: Week 2

Sep 15: Week 3

Oct 06: Week 1

Oct 13: Week 2

Oct 20: Week 3

FamilySearch Wiki

A look into the Wiki and how it increases opportunities to find family information. The class includes explanations and practical exercises to help you understand and exploit the benefits of this little-used tool in your FamilySearch toolkit.

Lecture and Lab – No Registration Necessary - Presented by Lee Tripp

  • 10:00 – 11:30 a.m. / 3rd and 4th Wednesday of the Month – Library Training Room 2 

Sep 21: “Why Wiki Works, Week 1”

Sep 28: “Why Wiki Works, Week 2” 

Oct 05: “Why Wiki Works, Week 3”

Training for Ward Family History Consultants

This series of classes is designed to help ward family history consultants learn their duties and increase their skills. Basic computer skills are necessary. Each class is designed to build on knowledge received in the previous class, so it is important to begin training with the first class.

Lecture and Some Hands-on Practice - Presented by Jill Shoemaker - No registration necessary.

  • 7:00 - 8:30 p.m.  Thursdays - Library Training Room 1      

Sep 08:  Week 4 “Learn to Use Records”          

Sep 15:  Week 5 “Perform Temple Ordinances and Descendancy Research”

Sep 22:  Week 6 “Helping Others Find Take Teach”

Sep 29:  Week 1 “Understanding Your Calling and Finding People to Help”

Basic Computer Skills

These two classes teach basic computer and graphic skills with hands-on practice. Please bring a flash drive to get the most from this class.

Lecture and Lab - Presented by Kenneth Spencer - No registration is necessary.

  • 1:00 - 2:30 p.m. Tuesdays - Library Training Room 2    

Sep 06: Basic Computer Skills, “BRING FLASH DRIVE”

Sep 13: Basic Computer Skills, "BRING FLASH DRIVE”  Room 1

Sep 20: Basic Computer Skills, "BRING FLASH DRIVE”

Sep 27: Basic Computer Skills,” BRING FLASH DRIVE”

  • 1:00 - 2:30 p.m. Thursdays - Library Training Room 2

Sep 08: “Basic Graphic Skills” – BRING FLASH DRIVE

Sep 15: “Basic Graphic Skills” – BRING FLASH DRIVE Room 1

Sep 22: “Basic Graphic Skills” – BRING FLASH DRIVE

Sep 29: “Basic Graphic Skills” – BRING FLASH DRIVE

IrfanView and Snipping Tool

IrfanView is a free graphics editing program designed for capturing and editing photos and documents. It is helpful in acquiring and preparing digital images for family history projects and genealogy programs. This class teaches the basic features and functions of both IrfanView and the Snipping Tool. Basic computer skills are necessary for this class to be a good experience.

Lecture and Lab - Presented by Tom Stubben - No registration is necessary.

  • 3:30 - 5:00 p.m. Wednesdays - Library Training Room 2  

Sep 21: "Installing and Using IrfanView Software and the Snipping Tool" 

Sep 28: "Installing and Using IrfanView Software and the Snipping Tool”

Genealogy Toolbox and Google Search Tools

This is a one-week course designed to showcase various tools to complete genealogical research.  Learn tools used in research and family history recording, including successful Google searches.  Basic computer skills are necessary.

Lecture and Lab - Presented by Glen Sisam - No registration is necessary.

  • 1:00 - 2:30 p.m.  Thursdays - Library Training Room 1

Sep 08: “Genealogy Toolbox and Google Research”

Sep 22: “Genealogy Toolbox and Google Research”

Indexing Workshop

The Learning Basic Indexing Skills class teaches basic indexing skills and other basic resources and helps available. This class will be helpful for all levels of indexers.

Lecture and Hands-on Practice - Presented by Steven Smith 1st week, Annie Smart 3rd week - No registration necessary.

  • 7:00 - 8:30 p.m.  Tuesdays, 1st and 3rd - Training Room 2

Sep 06: “Learning Basic Indexing Skills”

Sep 20:  “Learning Basic indexing Skills”

Beginning Genealogy Research

This series of classes teaches the basic elements of genealogical research. Students will learn to research, create a research objective, develop necessary skills in using family history equipment, and learn how to use basic research tools.

Lecture and Lab - Presented by Larry Whittaker - No registration is necessary.

  • 9:30 - 11:00 a.m.  Mondays - Library Training Room 1       

Sep 12: Week 2 "People, Records, and Tips"

Sep 19: Week 3 "Effective Search Strategies"

Sep 26: Week 4 "Online Genealogy" 

Beginning British Research

This series of three classes focuses on beginning research in England; the class covers various types of family history records in England, how to access them, and how to interpret them in order to extend or expand the family tree.  The class provides an overview of research strategies and focuses on British census records, civil registration records, and parish or church records.

Lecture and Lab - Presented by Lauren Leifson - No registration is necessary.

  • 1:30 - 3:00 a.m. Mondays - Library Training Room 2   

Sep 12: NO CLASS

Sep 19:  Beginning British Research –“England Civil Registration”

Sep 26:  Beginning British Research –“England Parish and Church Records”

Danish Research

These classes define types of records used in Danish research that give names, dates, places, and relationships of your ancestors. Learn where to find these records online on your own home computer. Instructions are given on how to extract and interpret the information found in these various records about your ancestors and how it can be used to extend your family lines.

Lecture and Lab – No Registration Necessary - Presented by Orla Pedersen

  • 3:00 – 4:30 p.m. / Wednesday – Library Training Room 2   

  NO FURTHER CLASSES UNTIL OCTOBER

Swedish Research

This series of two classes teaches how to read and research Swedish records:  birth, marriage and death information.  It also reviews how to use household records, which are much like census records, that occur often in more frequent time periods.

Lecture and lab - presented by Margareta Soderquist - no registration necessary.

  • 10:00 - 11:30 a.m. / Thursday - Library Training Room 1

Sep 15: “Beginning Swedish Research Week 1

Sep 22: “Beginning Swedish Research Week 2

Workshop on Your Line

These classes with varying topics provide helpful information for finding family names, analyzing your FamilySearch Family Tree, performing descendancy research, and are particularly helpful in helping you find new names to add to your family tree.  Helpful resources are also presented.

Lecture - Presented by Ron Ray - No registration is necessary.

  • 3:30 - 5:00 p.m. Tuesdays - Library Training Room 2  

Sep 06:  Workshop on Your Line:  “Plus FamilySearch, Virtual Pedigree, FindaRecord”

Sep 13:  Workshop on Your LineCancelled

Sep 20:  Workshop on Your Line:  “Plus the Snipping Tool”

Sep 27:  Workshop on Your Line:  “How to Use FindaRecord”

  • 7:00 - 8:30 p.m. Wednesdays - Training Room 2 

Ideas for Breaching Brick Walls

Everywhere your ancestors went, they left some kind of record.  This class will present the many places where records may be found, even unusual places.  No record is unsearched, both online and offline.  Class participants will learn how to successfully search FamilySearch, the FamilySearch Wiki, Ancestry, and Cyndi's List.  The classes are not sequential and may be attended at any time.

Lecture and Hands-on Lab - Presented by Tom and Betsy Neil - No registration is necessary.

  • 7:00 - 8:30 p.m. Tuesdays - Training Room 1

NO AUGUST CLASSES

Sep 06: “International Genealogy”

Sep 13: “Genealogy Offline”

Sep 20: “Using a Technology Toolkit”

Sep 27: “Conquering FamilySearch”

Ancestry.com

This four-week class is designed for all levels of family history users to integrate Ancestry.com into Family Tree.  Using the new Ancestry tools, you will learn how to transfer data and sources between Ancestry and FamilySearch and learn the advantages of an active tree in Ancestry.  You will also learn how to use all the tools within the Ancestry program to augment FamilySearch.  Basic computer skills are helpful.

Lecture and demonstration - Presented by Al Jones and Art Robbins - no registration necessary.

  • Monday Series - 1:00 - 2:30 p.m. - Library Training Room 1 

No more July Monday classes

  • Monday Series - 3:00 - 4:30 p.m. - Library Training Room 1

Sep 12: (1) “Adding Your Family Tree and Basic Website Tools”

Sep 19: (2) “Research Database Tools:  Adding Data, Pictures, and Sources”

Sep 26: (3) “Transferring Ancestry.com Data to FamilySearch Trees”

  • Wednesday Series – 10:00 – 11:30 a.m. – Library Training Room 1 

Sep 07: “Week 1: Adding Your Family Tree and Basic Website Tools”

Sep 14:  “Week 2: Research Database Tools:  Adding Data, Pictures, and Sources”

Sep 21:  “Week 3: Transferring Ancestry.com Data to FamilySearch Trees”

Sep 28:  “Week 4: Adding Pictures, Stories; Understanding DNA; Tools” 

MyHeritage.com

This is a one-week course designed for new users of MyHeritage.com.  The class presents the features and functions of the program.  Basic computer skills are necessary.

Lecture and lab with handouts -

  • 3:00 - 4:30 p.m. - Tuesday - Library Training Room 1

No more classes until further notice

  • 7:00 - 8:30 p.m. - Tuesday - Library Training Room 1

No more classes until further notice

Ancestral Quest

This is an eight-week course designed for current and new users of Ancestral Quest. The class teaches the features and functions of the program and gives students some hands-on practice. Basic computer skills are necessary.

Lecture and Lab - Presented by Bud Wood

  • Tuesday Series - 10:00 - 11:30 a.m. - Library Training Room 1 

Sep 13: Week 1 “Introduction to Ancestral Quest”

Sep 20: Week 2 "Linking Records in My AQ Database with Family Tree"

Sep 27: Week 3 "Sources"

  • Wednesday Series - 1:30 - 3:00 p.m. Library Training Room 1 

Sep 14: Week 1 “Introduction to Ancestral Quest”

Sep 21: Week 2 "Linking Records in My AQ Database with Family Tree"

Sep 28: Week 3 "Sources"

RootsMagic

This four-week course teaches the basic features and capabilities of the genealogy data management program RootsMagic, which is an approved FamilySearch affiliate software, and will provide hands-on computer experience. Basic computer skills are necessary. Some experience with RootsMagic is helpful.

Lecture and Lab Course - Presented by Ron Ray

  • 3:30 - 5:00 p.m. Tuesday Series - Library Training Room 2
  • 7:00 - 8:30 p.m.  Wednesdays - Library Training Room 2   

Sep 07: "Basic Keys and Sharing with Family Tree"

Sep 14: CANCELLED

Sep 21: "Sources, PDF Files"

Sep 28: "Creating Useful Reports and Creative Tools"

Riverton_FamilySearch_Library