To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:Fritty/sandbox/FHC Work Page

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.


The Fairview Pennsylvania Family History Center is dedicated to providing education and support for the family history community in the Fairview area. The Family History Center is open to the public, who are invited to use the resources free of charge. Anyone interested in learning more about their family history, including doing research to find ancestors, is welcome and encouraged to come to the center.Trained volunteers are available during Center hours and by appointment to assist patrons. Although our center is small, it is jam-packed with information to assist you in finding your family history.

Center Contacts and Hours[edit | edit source]

Location Map:

Address:

  • 11887 Mentzer Gap Road Waynesboro, PA 17268-9345 United States
  • Our center is located at the intersection of Mentzer Gap and Old Forge Roads in Waynesboro, Pa.
  • Language: English

Phone:1- 717-762-2268

E-mail:

  • PA_Fairview@ldsmail.net

Open Hours:

  • Tuesday:10am-1pm and 6:00pm-8:00pm
  • Wednesday:10am-1pm and 6:00pm-8:00pm
  • Thursday:10am-1pm and 6:00pm-8:00pm

Holiday Schedule:

Closed all major holidays

  • The center will not be open during inclement weather so be sure to call us to make sure someone will be there to greet you.

Center Resources[edit | edit source]

Collections[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog: This center has the ability to order any of the films and fiche available through the FamilySearch Catalog.

Databases and Software[edit | edit source]

  • FHC Portal This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
    • 19th Centry British Library Newspaper Digital Archive
    • Access Newspaper Archive
    • Alexander Street Press - The American Civil War
    • Ancestry.com
    • ArkivDigital Online - Swedish Genealogy
    • Findmypast
    • Fold3.com (previously known as Footnote.com)
    • The Genealogist
    • Godfrey Memorial Library
    • Hertiage Quest Online
    • Historic Map Works Library Edition
    • Paper Trail
    • World Vital Records

Hardware and Equipment[edit | edit source]

We have new computers to allow you to access your internet research through FamilySearch.org and free access to Ancestry.com and other premium sites. Our microfilm service allows you to order research microfilms from the Family History Library Catalog on Family Search from the comfort of your own home. The films arrive at our center for your use in about 10 days.


Center Services[edit | edit source]

Provide 1-on-1 family history training, assistance and support

Offer Family History classes

Provide other family history resources and materials

Collections[edit | edit source]

We have a long and interesting past in our area with a large collection of family histories, local cemeteries and funeral home records and many Franklin County records in books and on microfilm. We have one of the largest obituary files in the state compiled by volunteers who diligently clip obituaries every day


Family Tree[edit | edit source]

Family Tree Training[edit | edit source]

Introduction to FamilySearch Tree:[edit | edit source]


FREE Online Genealogy Forms and Training[edit | edit source]

Online Forms[edit | edit source]

Online Training Courses[edit | edit source]

Online Research Training Videos[edit | edit source]

The following list is just a sampling of many of the ResearchTraining Videos that are available from the above link at the Learning Center Home page.

Online Training Videos[edit | edit source]


Resources in the Local Area[edit | edit source]


Links[edit | edit source]

National Links[edit | edit source]

Other Family History and Library Centers and Resources[edit | edit source]


Volunteer at the Center - Come join our Staff[edit | edit source]

Would you like to learn more about Family History? Those who serve always learn the most!


Helpful Links[edit | edit source]

Family Search Blog[edit | edit source]

A terrific resource to keep up on what is going on and available in Family Search FamilySearch Blog

Let’s Get Acquainted with the Family Search Wiki (WIK-ee)[edit | edit source]

Family Search users don’t always think to look at this valuable tool because they aren’t sure what it is and how valuable it can be to our research efforts.  So, in Family Search’s words: “The FamilySearch Wiki is not about finding the names of your ancestors. It is not, in fact, about finding people at all.

  • The Wiki is about finding records that may have been generated about your ancestors and the places in which the records might be found<i>.</i>
    *It is a vast record depository of the paper trail that people leave behind long after they are gone.
    *The Wiki has records from the United States as well as from 244 countries.
    *Here you will be able to find documents such as census records, marriage records, birth records and death records and much more.
    *Probate documents are often very informative and may help you in your search. There is an extensive list of United States military records on the Wiki .”

Recently a friend in Illinois went into the FamilySearch Wiki and found phone numbers for the Surrogate Court in New York that held wills. She found six missing wills!

Take time to explore the opening page of this site there are tutuorials and examples and lots of help in learning the Wiki. Got stuck in your research? Look to the Wiki for help. How do I find the FamilySearch Wiki?

  • Familysearch.org Search (drop down menu) Wiki
    *(open FamilySearch.org and go to Search at top of page which will give you a dropdown menu and then click on Wiki)
    *How to Use the Wiki -- Wiki_Help
    *About the Wiki -- Find an ancestor using the wiki

Family Search Apps for Smart Phones and Tablets[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch Apps

Family Search Hacks to Help Find Temple Names Faster[edit | edit source]

5 FamilySearch Hacks

Unreserved Reservations after Two Years[edit | edit source]

Unreserving Reservations After Two Years