User:Evancol/Sandbox/United States Census
United States U.S. Census
|Non-Population Federal Schedules|
|U.S. Census Types|
See also Beginning Census Research and Record Keeping in the FamilySearch Learning Center.
Key U.S. Census Internet Links [edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Historical Records (Free) Indexes and images 1790-1940. (Slide down to see census years)
- U.S. Census Online Internet links
- U.S. Census Bureau (Free) images of published transcriptions of 1790 census for 12 states
- Internet Archive (Free) images 1790-1930
- Ancestry.com ($) indexes & images 1790-1940
- CensusRecords.com ($) indexes & images 1790-1940
- Findmypast.com ($) indexes & images 1790 - 1940
- HeritageQuest ($) images 1790-1940 + a few indexes
- Fold3.com ($) index & images 1860 and 1930
- My Free Census Find your ancestors in the U.S. census, and International census records, in our easy to use census directory.
- New Horizons Genealogy Specializing in State Census Records.
- Census Finder free census links and how to use census records for genealogical research.
- Cyndi's List - United States - U.S. Census free index of links
- Internet Archive http://archive.org/details/us_census free complete use of all US census records
Value of Censuses[edit | edit source]
A census is a count and description of the population of a country,state, county, or city. Census lists are also called “schedules." In the United States a nationwide census has been taken every ten years since 1790. A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to:
Contents of Federal Censuses[edit | edit source]
- What You'll Learn in the Census Year by Year Ancestry.com ($) Comparison table of census headings
- Historical Census Browser 1790-1960 (University of Virginia Library)
Finding Census Records[edit | edit source]
Censuses in U.S. States[edit | edit source]
Censuses in U.S. Territories[edit | edit source]
Key Reference Sources[edit | edit source]
- William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to U.S. Federal Censuses 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publ., 1987) [FHL Book 973 X2th]. Shows county boundary changes in each state from 1790 to 1920, and which census areas were lost or still exist.
- William Dollarhide, The Census Book: a Genealogist's Guide to Federal Census Facts, Schedules and Indexes: with Master Extraction Forms for Federal Census Schedules, 1790-1930. (Bountiful, Utah: Heritage Quest, 1999)[FHL book 973 X27d]. An online edition is at HeritageQuestOnline. Discusses indexes, regular, and non-population schedules.
- G. David Dilts, "Censuses and Tax Lists" in Kory L. Meyerink, ed., Printed Sources: a Guide to Published Genealogical Records (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1998), 300-52. [FHL Book 016.9293 P96m] Strategies for finding elusive ancestors, and history of indexing.
- Tiffany Perkins, Tiff's Census Class (27 minute online video) FamilySearch Research Classes Online, and Mid-Continent Public Library, Midwest Genealogy Center, 2010.
- Gary Toms, State and Special Census Records (36 minute online video) FamilySearch Research Classes Online, and Mid-Continent Public Library, Midwest Genealogy Center, 2010.
- Angela McComas, Heads of Household Only: Analysis of Pre-1850 Federal Census (19 minute online video) FamilySearch Research Classes Online, and Mid-Continent Public Library, Midwest Genealogy Center, 2010.
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
Things you can do[edit | edit source]
In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by: