User:Evancol/Sandbox/Test5

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Boone County

Guide to Boone County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Boone County Courthouse
100 N Main Street
Harrison, AR 72602
Phone: 870.741.8428

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1869. 
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records.[1]

Government and Related Websites

  • County-clerk.net (unofficial site) — Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
  • PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) — Provides links to County officials and public records

Boone County, Arkansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1869 1914* 1869 1869 1869 1870
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1869--Boone County was created 9 April 1869 from Carrol and Madison Counties.  County seat: Harrison [2]

Cities and Towns

Template:AR Cities and Towns Intro

  • Click FamilySearch Catalog and select the link Places within... for cities and towns (most counties)

Populated Places

  • Bear Creek Township
  • Bellefonte
  • Harrison
  • Lead Hill
  • Valley Springs
{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Harrison
Organized: April 9, 1869
Parent County(s): CarrolMadison[2]
Neighboring Counties
Carroll  • Marion  • Newton  • Searcy  • Taney (MO)
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasBooneCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-boone.png
Adoption


History Timeline

Events below gleaned from Boone County The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture

  • Pre 1808 - Although they had no communities in the area, the Osage had claims to what would become Boone County until an 1808 treaty.
  • 1812 - The area was part of Missouri Territory.
  • 1869 - The Arkansas legislature created Boone County from Carroll County.
  • 1875 - A portion of Marion County was taken in by Boone County.
  • 1900s - Change came with the arrival of the Missouri and North Arkansas Railroad.
  • 1900-1910 - The African-American population, which had shown limited growth in each census since 1870, decreased from 142 to seven.
  • 1920s-1930s - Hard times forced many families to seek jobs outside the county.

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Boone County, Arkansas online and in print
Online search for people in the county
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" (on the left), enter a name, click Search
  • Arkansas Gravestones enter a name and click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
Get a list of cemeteries (then click to names of people)
Find printed records (Often more complete)

Census Records

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

  • Ware, Keith. "Boone County hatchery" Boone County historian (Arkansas) - v. 2-3 (2004-2005) - v. 3, no. 4 (Oct./Dec. 2005).
  • Crooked Creek Valley, Arkansas before and during the Civil War : ca. 1827-1865.
  • Logan, Roger V., Jr. Mountain heritage : some glimpses into Boone County's past after one hundred yearsHarrison, Arkansas : Harrison Junior Chamber of Commerce, 1969.
  • Some Cities and towns may have local histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Click on a neighboring county to go to the wiki page.
Barry CountyStone CountyTaney CountyOzark CountyCarroll CountyBoone CountyMarion CountyMadison CountyNewton CountySearcy CountyAR BOONE 1.JPG
About this image

Migration

Military Records

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Major catalogs for books, microfilm, or collections pertaining to Boone County

Museums

Societies

  • Boone County Genealogical Society (seems to be discontinued Dec 2014)
  • Boone County Heritage Museum by Boone County Historical & Railroad Society
    124 South Cherry Street
    Harrison, AR 72601
    Phone (870) 741-3312
    • Under Resources tab, select: cemeteries, historical places, marriage records, local resources and organizations, or railroad resources. Records may/may not be online.

Websites

Sites with online indexes or images of records

  • ARGenWeb - Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb - Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb - Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Ancestry.com resources

More Boone County genealogy links

  • Linkpendium - Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList - Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 66.
  2. 2.0 2.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.
  4. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.