User:Evancol/Sandbox/Ontario

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Canada Gotoarrow.png Ontario

Guide to Ontario ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

This article is about a province of central-east Canada, formerly known as Upper Canada and Canada West. For other uses, see the Ontario (disambiguation).


Ontario Research Topics
Ontario Flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Ontario Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources


Ontario Information

Ontario is a province in the East central regionn of Canada. It was formerlu known as Upper Canada or Canada West.

Getting Started

Getting Started with Ontario Research

Links to articles on getting started with Ontario research.

Ontario Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Ontario research.

{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button.png

Ontario Map

Ontario-map.png

Historical Counties and Districts

Current Ontario Counties, Districts, and Municipalities shows the most recent government divisions at the county or equivalent level.

Extinct Counties and Districts:  Addington County · Bothwell District · Brant County · Cardwell District · Carleton County · Dufferin County · Dundas County · Durham County · Frontenac County · Glengarry County · Grenville County · Haldimand County · Halton County · Kent County · Leeds County · Lennox County · Lincoln County · Monck District · Niagara District · Norfolk County · Ontario County · Patricia County · Peel County · Prescott County · Prince Edward County · Russell County · Stormont County · Sudbury Regional Municipality · Suffolk County · Victoria County · Welland County · Waterloo County · Wentworth County · York County

Major Repositories

Library and Archives Canada · Archives of Ontario · Toronto Reference Library · University of Western Ontario D. B. Weldon Library · American-Canadian Genealogical Society · Ontario Births and Baptisms (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Migration Routes

Ottawa River · St. Lawrence River · Lake Champlain · Lake Erie · Lake Huron · Lake Ontario · Lake Superior · Addinton Road · Bobcageon Road · Halifax Road or Grand Communication Route · Hastings Road · King's Road · Monck Road · Nipissing Road · Opeongo Line · Provincial Road · Talbot Trail · Chambly Canal · Erie Canal · Soo Locks · Canadian Pacific Railway


FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.