To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:Evancol/Sandbox/Marshall

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

United StatesGotoarrow.png South Dakota Gotoarrow.png Marshall County

Guide to Marshall County, South Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Marshall County Courthouse
County Courthouse;
Britton, SD 57430
Phone: 605.448.5213

Register of Deeds has births and death records from 1905, marriage records from 1887, burial and land records;
Clerk Court has divorce rec from 1888, probate records from 1889 and court records[1]

Marshall County, South Dakota Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1890

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in the county[3]

Cities

Towns[edit]

Census-designated place

Unincorporated communities

Townships

  • Buffalo
  • Dayton
  • Dumarce
  • Eden
  • Fort
  • Hamilton
  • Hickman
  • La Belle
  • Lake
  • Lowell
  • McKinley
  • Miller
  • Newark
  • Newport
  • Nordland
  • Pleasant Valley
  • Red Iron Lake
  • Sisseton
  • Stena
  • Veblen
  • Victor
  • Waverly
  • Weston
  • White
  • Wismer

Indian Reservation

A portion of the Lake Traverse Indian Reservation is in Marshall County. The remainder of the reservation is in Roberts, Day, and Codington Counties in South Dakota and in Richland and Sargent Counties in North Dakota.


{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Britton
Organized: May 2, 1885
Parent County(s): Day[2]
Neighboring Counties
Brown  • Day  • Richland (ND)  • Roberts  • Sargent (ND)
See County Maps
Courthouse
SouthDakotaMarshallCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
SD-marshall.png
Adoption
Sdgwlogo2.gif This user is a member of SDGenWeb Project, an organization that has adopted some pages in the wiki.


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Marshall County, South Dakota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Dakota Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1890 4,544
1900 5,942 30.8%
1910 8,021 35.0%
1920 9,596 19.6%
1930 9,540 −0.6%
1940 8,880 −6.9%
1950 7,835 −11.8%
1960 6,663 −15.0%
1970 5,965 −10.5%
1980 5,404 −9.4%
1990 4,844 −10.4%
2000 4,576 −5.5%
2010 4,656 1.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Before South Dakota was a state in 1889, parts of South Dakota were included in the 1836 Iowa Territory census (also known as Wisconsin Territory), 1840 Iowa Territory census, 1850 Minnesota Territory census, and the 1860-1880 Dakota Territory censuses.[4] See links listed below.

State Census Records[edit | edit source]

Federal Census Records[edit | edit source]

Federal Censuses were taken for South Dakota starting in 1910. For links to Federal census indexes, see South Dakota Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about South Dakota denominations, view the South Dakota Church Records wiki page.

Lutheran

Falnes Lutheran Church, Langford

  • Records of Falnes Lutheran Church, Langford, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Lake City

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Lake City, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Veblen

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Veblen, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See South Dakota Land and Property for additional information about early South Dakota land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Evancol/Sandbox/Marshall. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section South Dakota Local Histories.

My Grandfather lost his right arm in a farm accident in about 1929. He then ran the Drabek General Store in Hillhead for many years, while continuing to Farm. His name was Adolph Drabek. He and his wife, Mary Najmajstr are buried in St. Matthews Cemetary near Veblen.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

World War I


Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For more information, see South Dakota Newspapers.

South Dakota Newspapers Online

South Dakota Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper.

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Evancol/Sandbox/Marshall newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in South Dakota, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for South Dakota, Marshall then click Probate records.

Online Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

South Dakota tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002)Marshall County, South Dakota, p.626
  2. 2.0 2.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Marshall County, South Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marshall_County%2C_South_Dakota accessed 6 November 2016.
  4. ’'Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 617. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.