User:Evancol/Sandbox/Layout2
United States Genealogy 
Texas Andrews County
Andrews County, Texas genealogy and family history research page. Guide to Andrews County genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records.
|
This user is a member of Hidden Ancestors, an organization that has adopted some pages in the wiki. |
|---|
| Andrews County, Texas | |
| Map | |
 Location of Texas in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | August 21, 1876 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Andrews |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Andrews County Courthouse 215 NW 1st Street Andrews, TX 79714 Phone: 915.524.1426 Andrews County Website |
Contents
[edit | edit source]
|
|
This user is a member of Hidden Ancestors, an organization that has adopted some pages in the wiki. |
|---|
| Beginner's Corner |
|---|
| The Beginner’s Corner links to information that will help you get started researching your ancestors. Choose from one of the following: |
| I want to find a birth, christening or baptism |
| I want to find a marriage |
| I want to find a death or burial |
| I want to find someone's parents (land and probate records) |
Start with These[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive. You can also order them online through a third party company.
Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Births[edit | edit source]
- Andrews County Birth Records. The birth records are from 1917-1995.
Deaths[edit | edit source]
- Andrews County Death Certificate Project. The death certificates consist of Images and/or Transcriptions from Andrews County and and a few from surrounding counties.
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
Divorces[edit | edit source]
- Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 ~ Hidden Ancestors
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- Texas Marriage Records 1966 - 2005 ~ Hidden Ancestors
Census[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1890 | 24 | ||
| 1900 | 87 | 262.5% | |
| 1910 | 975 | 1,020.7% | |
| 1920 | 350 | −64.1% | |
| 1930 | 736 | 110.3% | |
| 1940 | 1,277 | 73.5% | |
| 1950 | 5,002 | 291.7% | |
| 1960 | 13,450 | 168.9% | |
| 1970 | 10,372 | −22.9% | |
| 1980 | 13,323 | 28.5% | |
| 1990 | 14,338 | 7.6% | |
| 2000 | 13,004 | −9.3% | |
| 2010 | 14,786 | 13.7% | |
| Est. 2012 | 16,117 | 23.9% | |
Texas Almanac: 1850-2010[2] | |||
- USGenWeb Census Project ~ Texas 1850 - 1930
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Additional Cemetery Databases
[edit | edit source]
- Andrews County Cemetery (also knows as Andrews Old)
- Andrews North Cemetery (connected with the Andrews Old Cemetery)
- Andrews West Cemetery
- Shafter Lake Cemetery
Land[edit | edit source]
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- Texas Land Heritage Registry ~ TXGenWeb
- Land Survey Abstract Indicies ~ TXGenWeb Archives Project
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records of Texas, United States Genealogy have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Then Try These[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County Clerk has birth, marriage and court records from 1910,
probate records from 1911 and land records from 1884;
District Clerk has divorce record[1]
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American Resources[edit | edit source]
- Texas African American Griots ~ USGenWeb
- AfriGeneas ~ African Ancestored Genealogy
- Texas African American Genealogy ~ Access Genealogy
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
- Texas Christian Church Directory ~ ChurchAngel
- Catholic Parishes in Texas
- Andrews County Churches - Incomplete List
Court[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Family Group Sheets[edit | edit source]
Family Group Sheets of Andrews County
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes in Andrews County
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Evancol/Sandbox/Layout2. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Andrews County History
- Andrews County History from the Handbook of Texas Online
- Andrews County History, 1876–1978, published in 1978, by the Andrews County Heritage Committee
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Historical Maps ~ From the Republic to the Turn of the Century ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
- Andrews County 1887
- Andrews County 1895
Military[edit | edit source]
- Military Resources ~ Links to research Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Fallen Heroes ~ Partial Index of casualties from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Honoring Our Veterans ~ Partial index of veterans from Civil War to Operation Enduring Freedom ~ Hidden Ancestors
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Evancol/Sandbox/Layout2 newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Census Diggins 1830-1930
- Do a Evancol/Sandbox/Layout2 Place-name search for these and other records in the FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see FamilySearch Catalog Places Search).
Off-line Newspaper Information
Online Newspapers
from Andrews County Area
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- http://www.hiddenancestors.com/andrewstx/obituaries/Obituaries.htm
- Obituary Resources ~ Links to research and locate obituaries ~ Hidden Ancestors
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Texas
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Texas Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Project ~ Hidden Ancestors
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Andews County Library The library has a small genealogical collection in the library. They have Microfilm of several newspapers.
Andrews County Genealogy Society The members assist researches at the Andrews County Library. At present they are not meeting formally
Patricia Tousch is the leader and contact person for help: (432) 523-4759
Society Hill ~ Links and addresses to Texas genealogical and historical societies
Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
1876--Andrews County was created 21 August 1876 from the Bexar Land District. County seat: Andrews
The county was named for Richard Andrews, who was killed in the Texas Revolution.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
County Seat: Andrews
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Web Sites[edit | edit source]
- Family History Library Catalog
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- Hidden Ancestors Information on Texas genealogy research as well as genealogy research in general.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Cyndi's List ~ Texas
Featured Topics[edit | edit source]
 Southampton County |
 Virginia Census |
 Augusta County Genealogy |
 Virginia Immigration |
 Norborne Parish |
