This article is about an eastern upstate New York county in the United States. For other uses, including other similarly named localities, see Albany.
|Albany County, New York|
Location in the state of New York
Location of New York in the U.S.
|Founded||November 1, 1683|
|Parent County||Original County|
|Address||Office of Albany County Clerk|
32 N Russell Road
Albany, NY 12206-1324
- 1 Bible Records
- 2 Biography
- 3 Business Records and Commerce
- 4 Cemeteries
- 5 Census
- 6 Church Records
- 7 Court Records
- 8 Crime and Criminals
- 9 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 10 Genealogy
- 11 Gazetteers
- 12 History
- 13 Land and Property
- 14 Maps
- 15 Migration
- 16 Military
- 17 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 18 Newspapers
- 19 Obituaries
- 20 Periodicals
- 21 Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.
- 22 Probate Records
- 23 Repositories
- 24 Taxation
- 25 Vital Records
- 26 Voting Registers
- 27 References
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- William A. Brinkman, Bible and Family Records (Guilderland, N.Y.: typescript, 1943). At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL film 532617 item 6. 62 names, some with several families; surname index at back.
Biography[edit | edit source]
- George Rogers Howell, Jonathan Tenny, and John H. Munsell, History of the County of Albany, N. Y., from 1609-1886: with Portraits, Biographies and Illustrations, Bi-centennial History of Albany (Microreproduction of original published: New York: W. W. Munsell, 1886).
- Rufus W. Clark, The Heroes of Albany: a Memorial of the Patriot-Martyrs of the City and County of Albany, Who Sacrificed Their Lives During the Late War in Defense of Our Nation, 1861-1865 (Albany, New York: S.R. Gray, 1867). Internet Archive digital copy.
- Amasa Junius Parker, Landmarks of Albany County, New York (Syracuse, New York: D. Mason, 1897). Internet Archive digital copy.
- Cuyler Reynolds, Hudson–Mohawk Genealogical and Family Memoirs (New York: Lewis Historical Publishing Co., 1911). Schenectady Digital History Archive with free online index. Google Books digital copy.
- Category:Biography list of 1400 short biographies in the Helderberg Hilltowns wiki.
- People of Albany County Live Here in New York State Museum online collection of 3,100 biographies of colonial residents.
Business Records and Commerce[edit | edit source]
- Albany County Savings Bank, Fifty years of service, 1874-1924 (Microreproduction of original published: Albany : Albany Co. Savings Bank, 1925?) At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Fiche 6062147.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Cemetery records often reveal birth, death, relationship, military, and religious information. See the New York Cemetery page for further details.
|Online Grave Transcripts||Printed Grave Transcripts||County Cemetery Directories|
|findagrave.com||Family History Library||findagrave.com|
|interment.net||WorldCat||Tombstone Transcription Project|
|New York Gravestones||Catholic Diocesan cemeteries|
- -1900-2002 Jewish People's Cemetery
- -1850- 2001 Temple Israel, Sons of Abraham, Ohav Sholom Cemetery
- Some Albany County area cemetery records 18 alphabetical sets of gravestone transcripts and 1 death notices list
- Early Settlers of New York State 17 tombstone transcripts of Bethlehem, NY in Ancestry.com
- The Albany County Clerk's Office Hall of Records has cemetery records from 1787 to 1997 for Albany Almshouse Internments, Evangelical Protestant Cemetery Plot Plan, Rensselaerville Cemetery, and Weterlo Cemetery on microfilm in their Historical Records.
Census[edit | edit source]
For information and tips on using and accessing online census records, see New York Census.
Federal[edit | edit source]
- 1790 Rensselaerville census (Rootsweb)
- 1790 Rensselaerville census index (RootsWeb)
- 1790 Watervliet census (Rootsweb)
- 1790 Watervliet census index (Rootsweb)
Colonial or State[edit | edit source]
|Family History Library||-||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes|
|FamilySearch Historical Records||-||-||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes||-||-|
|New York State Library||-||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes||Yes|
County[edit | edit source]
- 1810 census, computer index to Albany County, New York FHL book 974.742 X2j 1810
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records may give birth, death and marriage information and are most often found on a local city, town or community level. For more information, see New York Church Records.
- Early Church Membership of the Reformed Prot. Dutch Church
- Albany Dutch Reform Church Baptisms 1683-1724 Courtesy Genealogytrails.com
- Albany, New York Church Records, 1683-1700 This database predominately contains records of baptisms, marriages and deaths from the Dutch Reformed Church in the city of Albany as well as a list of members of the Holland Society who died between 1800-1904. Ancestry.com ($)
- Records of the Reformed Dutch Church of Albany, New York, 1683-1809: Marriages, Baptisms, Members, etc. WorldVital Records ($). Free viewing site at Clarku.edu
- Albany Baptisms of the Dutch Reformed Church of Albany, New York, 1683-1724
- Excerpts from Dutch Reformed churches of Albany, Dutchess and Ulster counties of NY, FHL Film 1421869 item 5
- Record of marriages and a few baptisms, 1822-1877, FHL films 1019522 Item 6 and 17668 Item 2
- Reformed South Church (Albany County, New York) Members, baptisms, marriages, and deaths : 1844-1904 [Albany County, New York] FHL Film 1928069 item 15
- Lutheran Church, Albany, Baptisms, 1774-1785 Rev. Wilson served in Albany County between 1831-1835. FHL Film 1019522 item 6; 17668 item 2 (another filming)
- Dern, John P., Simon Hart, Sibrandina Geertruid Hart-Runeman, Harry J. Kreider The Albany protocol, Wilhelm Christoph Berkenmeyer's chronicle of Lutheran affairs in New York Colony, 1731-1750 WorldCat 158124; FHL Book 974.7 K2d 1992
- History of the First Presbyterian Church of Albany, N.Y.
- Early Settlers of New York State, Vol. 11 Contains early church records for the First Presbyterian Church of Albany County, Vol. 1] Ancestry.com ($)
- Early Settlers of New York State, Vol. 11 Contains early church records for the First Presbyterian Church of Albany County. Ancestry.com ($)
The Albany County Clerk's Office Hall of Records has church records on microfilm in their Historical Records for towns and cities in Albany County 1683–1932 for the following churches:
- Albany First Lutheran 1794-1932
- Albany First Presbyterian 1785-1841
- Albany Methodist 1806-1884
- Albany Saint Peter's Episcopal 1756-1883
- Albany Second Presbyterian 1815-1870
- Albany State Street Presbyterian 1859-1883
- Berne Lutheran 1790-1875
- Berne Reformed Dutch 1763-1877
- Bethlehem First Reformed 1794-1924
- Coeymans Reformed Protestant Dutch 1846-1877
- Delmar Reformed 1848-1899
- Guilderland Center Dutch Reformed 1794-1925
- Jerusalem Reformed 1842-1890
- Knowerville Lutheran 1785-1868
- New Salem Dutch Reformed 1786-1899
- Reformed Dutch of Albany 1683-1809
- Unionville Dutch Reformed 1825-1932
- West Sand Lake Lutheran 1785-1868
- Wynantskill Reformed 1794-1889
For details on these church records see the town or city wiki page.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Original court records for Albany County are held in the office of the County Clerk See New York Court Records for more information about using court records.
Copies of Original Records
- 1652-1782 Court minutes FHL Film 463361–463363
- 1665-1685 Proceedings, justices of the peace FHL Film 463368
- 1676-1695 Proceedings of commissioners, 1676-1680; notarial papers, 1660-1695 FHL Film 463366–463367
- 1702-1849 Albany treasurer record, 1702-1712; ledger, 1808-1849 FHL Film 463369
- 1784-1880 Church patents, with index FHL Film 463365
- 1827-1901 Lis Pendens, 1827-1901; index to maps, 1630-1904 FHL Film 464919 (first of 17 films)
- 1849-1880 Judgement rolls FHL Film 466381 (first of 16 films)
- 1884-1919 Divorce decrees FHL Film 1301982 item 2
- 1648-1652 [Minutes of the Court of Rensselaerswyck] available at ancestry.com ($)
- 1652-1656 Arnold J.F. Van Laer, Minutes of the Court of Fort Orange and Beverwyck, 1652 - 1656 (Albany, New York: Univ. of the State of NY, 1920) World Vital Records ($)
- 1652-1660 New Netherland, Inferior Court of Justice (Beverwyck, New York), Fort Orange court minutes, 1652-1660 (Syracuse, New York: Holland Society of New York, c1990). At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 974.742 P2f.
- 1668-1685 Arnold J.F. Van Laer, Minutes of the court of Albany, Rensselaerswyck, and Schenectady, 1668- 1685 (Albany, New York: University of New York, 1926-1932). At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 974.74 P2v. v.1 1668-1673 at World Vital Records ($)
- 1797 Arthur C.M. Kelly, Book of the freeholders, 1797, Albany County, New York : persons qualified to serve for struck juries (Rhinebeck, New York: Kinship Books, c2000). At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 974.742 P2k.
Crime and Criminals[edit | edit source]
The Albany County Clerk's Office Hall of Records (ACHOR)has County Sheriff/Jail records from 1825 to 1967 in their Historical Records. These records include Criminal Records books; inmate booking ledger; inmate commitment books; and registers of inmates, prisoners, and female prisoners. The ACHOR also has Albany Police department's History of Arrests from 1865 to 1940 on microfilm.
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
- Jonathan Pearson, Contributions to the Genealogies of the First Settlers of the Ancient County of Albany from 1630 to 1800 (Albany, N.Y.: J. Munsell, 1878).
- Albany County Sources A RootsWeb list of printed genealogical sources in nearby libraries.
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
At the time of creation it included all of the present Bennington County, Vermont, all of New York state north of the counties of Dutchess and Ulster, and theoretically stretched west to the Pacific Ocean.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Albany County was one of the original twelve counties created by the British Province of New York on 1 November 1683.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
- 27 May 1717: Albany County was adjusted to gain an indefinite amount of land from Dutchess County and other non-county lands.
- 7 October 1763: King George III, King of England, as part of his proclamation, created new province of Quebec, implicity setting the northern limit of New York at the parallel of 45 degrees north latitude, from Atlantic-St.Lawrence watershed westward to the St. Lawrence River, but it was never mapped.
- 20 July 1764: King George III established the boundary between New Hampshire and New York along the west bank of the Connecticut River, north of Massachusetts and south of the 45th parallel. Albany County implicitly gained present-day Vermont. Disputes broke out later and the dissatified colonists organized in opposition which led to the creation of Republic of Vermont in 1777 (lasted until Vermont joined in the American Revolutionary War.)
- 13 July 1766: Cumberland County was partitioned from Albany County, covering all northern and eastern limits of the county, including what is now Windsor County, most of Windham County and parts of Bennington and Rutland counties in Vermont.
- 26 June 1767: Albany County regained all of Cumberland County.
- 19 March 1768: the county was repartitioned and Cumberland County restored.
- 16 March 1770: the county was partitioned again to create Gloucester County (which includes all of present-day Orange, Caledonia and Essex counties, most of Washington County, parts of Orleans, Lamoille, Addison and Chittenden counties in Vermont.
- 12 March 1772: Albany County was partitioned again, into Albany, Tryon (now Montgomery) and Charlotte (now Washington) counties.
- 24 March 1772: a partition of 50 sq miles was handed over to Cumberland County.
- 9 March 1774: Ulster County was set off from Albany County.
- 1 April 1775: a partition of 60 sq miles was handed over to Charlotte County who then exchanged a like parcel with Cumberland County.
- 15 January 1777: 300 square miles was lost to the Republic of Vermont.
- 26 January 1781: Bennington County, Vermont attempted to annex a portion of Albany County (today's portions of Washington and Rensselaer counties) to form "The West Union." The Confederation (before there was the US Constitution) arbitrated this annexation, and condemned it, with Vermont ceasing the attempts on 23 February 1783.
- 4 Apr 1786: Columbia County was set off.
- 7 March 1788: New York refusing to recognize the independence of Vermont, with Cumberland County eliminated, tried to adjust the line that separated Cumberland County from Albany in present-day Vermont, but to no effect.
- 7 February 1791: Rensselaer and Saratoga counties were set off. On the same day, town of Cambridge was transferred to Washington County.
- 1 January 1795: Schoharie County was set off.
- 5 April 1798: Ulster County took 90 sq miles to add to it.
- 25 March 1800: Greene County set off.
- 3 March 1808: Havre Island turned over to Saratoga County with no net loss of land.
- 7 March 1809: Schenectady County set off. From this day Albany County exists in its present shape.
- Collections on the History of Albany, from its Discovery to the Present Time: with Notices of its Public Institutions, and Biographical Sketches of Citizens Deceased Digital version at Family History Archives
The Family History Library Catalog lists many more books on History in Albany County.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Original land records for Albany County are held in Hall of Records . See New York Land and Property for more information about using land records. The Albany County Clerk allows Online Access to Deeds and Mortgages from 1980 to the present.
Freeholders List for the city and county of Albany for 1720. No further information is available except the name and place.
The Albany County Clerk's Office Hall of Recordshas deeds and leases (1723 to 1898) for Albany city, county deeds (1654-1894), and mortgage records(1752-1980) on microfilm in their Historical Records.
Copies of Original Records
- 1630–1894 Index to Mortgages FHL film 466856 (first of 15 films)
- 1652–1660, 1765–1894 Mortgages FHL film 466856 (first of 12 films)
- 1630–1966 Index to State of New York deeds FHL film 464896 (first of 82 films)
- 1654–1901 State of New York deeds FHL film 463345 (first of 286 films)
- 1630–1904 Index to maps in Lis Pendens FHL film 464919 (first of 17 films)
- 1827–1901 Lis Pendens FHL film 466871
- Van Rensselaer Manor papers FHL film 1697716 Item 1 and book 974.7 R2r
- 1768–1771 Laura Penny Hulslander, Abstracts of Deeds and Wills of Albany County, New York, 1768–1771 (Mililani, Hawaii: Sleeper, 1992). FHL fiche 6110594 and book 974.742 R2h
- 1656–1704 Arnold J.F. Van Laer and Jonathan Pearson, Early records of the city and county of Albany and colony of Resselaerswyck (Albany, New York: University of the State of New York, 1869-1919). At various Libraries(WorldCat) FHL book 974.742 N2v
- H. C. Burleigh, Confiscations, Albany, Charlotte, and Tryon Counties, New York (Toronto, Ontario: United Empire Loyalists' Association of Canada, ). At various Libraries(WorldCat) FHL film 1321358 Item 3 and book 974.74 R2b
- 1854 Land ownership maps FHL fiche 6079710
Additional resources for Albany County land and property may be found in the FHLC.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- 1890: Changes in names of streets in Albany. Courtesy NYGenWeb.
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Albany County for settlers included:
- Hudson River pre-historic
- Mohawk River pre-historic
- Lake Champlain pre-historic
- Richelieu River pre-historic
- Saint Lawrence River prehistoric
- Lake Champlain Trail pre-historic
- Albany Post Road (or Queen's Road, or King's Road) 1669
- Mohawk or Iroquois Trail 1722
- Forbidden Path or Catskill Turnpike
- Greenwood Road
- Old Connecticut Path
- Champlain Canal 1823
- Erie Canal 1825
- Chambly Canal 1843
Military[edit | edit source]
Service men in Albany County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed companies formed in Albany County: 
- - 2nd Regiment, New York Infantry, Company H
- - 3rd Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 7th Veteran Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 9th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 17th Veteran Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 18th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 20th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 22nd Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 30th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 34th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 43rd Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 44th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 61st Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 62nd Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 63rd Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 91st Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 93rd Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 104th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 113th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 138th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 148th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 175th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 177th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 179th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 184th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 186th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 188th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 189th Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 192nd Regiment, New York Infantry
- - 194th Regiment, New York Infantry
The Albany County Clerk's Office Hall of Recordshas Civil War Allotment/Correspondence from 1861 to 1864 on microfilm in their Historical Records.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Original naturalization records for Albany County are held in the Hall of Records. See New York Naturalization and Citizenship for more information.
- Albany County Clerk's Office, Naturalization Indexes online 1821-1991 used to find citizenship records with place of residence and place of origin.
- Naturalizations after 1991 are located:
Office of Immigration and Naturalization
U.S. Post Office and Federal Court House Room 220
Albany, NY 12207
- 1895–1906 Naturalization records(includes index, declarations, oaths and orders, and petitions) FHL film 1304706 (first of 8 films)
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.[edit | edit source]
The Albany County Clerk's Office Hall of Records has county Almshouse Records from 1870 to 1947 on microfilm in their Historical Records. These records include deaths, widow and orphan benefits, register of state poor, and interments.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Original estates and wills for Albany County are held in the Surrogate Court. See New York Probate Records for more information about using probate records.
Copies of Original Records
- 1600s–1700s, 1700–1825 Original records of administrations of estates, inventories and accounts. FHL film 504477 (first of 22 films)
- 1629–1828 Index to Record of wills recorded at Albany, New York FHL film 481435 Item 2
- 1629–1802 Record of wills recorded at Albany, New York FHL film 481436 (first of 12 films)
- 1691–1835 Wills FHL film 463364
- 1787–1796 Albany probate records FHL film 17515 Item 1
- 1787–1902 Wills, letters testamentary, letters of administration, orders and index FHL film 467999(first of 82 films)
- 1799–1848 Wills proved and recorded FHL film 481434 and 481435 Item 1
- 1626–1836 Berthold Fernow, Calendar of Wills on File and Recorded in the Offices of the Clerk of the Court of Appeals, of the County Clerk at Albany and of the Secretary of State (Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1965, 1967). At various Libraries(WorldCat) FHL film 416895 and fiche 6046668
- 1681–1765 Jonathan Pearson and Arnold J. F. Van Laer, Early records of the City and County of Albany and Colony of Resselaerswyck (Albany, New York: University of the State of New York, 1869-1919). (has Wills - translated from Dutch) At various Libraries(WorldCat) FHL book 974.742 N2v
- 1780 to Dec. 1, 1895 Martin Conway, Index to Wills and to Letters of Administration ([Albany?: s.n.], 1895). Family History Archive At various Libraries(WorldCat) FHL fiche 6062100
Additional resources for Albany County probates may be found in the New York, Albany – Probate topic page of the Family History Library catalog (FHLC). Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Repositories[edit | edit source]
Some helps for finding Albany County records are:
- Historical Records, a complete listing of the historical records at the Albany County Hall of Records
- Guide to Historical Resources in Albany County, New York, Repositories FHLC
- Guide to Records in the New York State Archives FHLC
- Inventory of the County Archives of New York, no. 01, Albany County (Albany) FHLC
- A Sketch of the Life of Horatio Seymour, 1810-1886, with a Detailed Account of his Administration as Governor of the State of New York During the War of 1861-1865 FHLC
- World Our Fathers Made: a Survey of the Records of Local Governments in the County of Albany, New York, During the Constitutional Era, 1783-1815 FHLC
Archives, Libraries, and Museums[edit | edit source]
Albany Public Library Main Library
161 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12210
Phone: (518) 427-4300
Call for hours. Albany History Room hours differ from regular library hours.
Pruyn Collection of Albany History housed in the Albany History Room of the library. Collection includes city directories, newspapers, and census records on film and online.
Guilderland Public Library
2228 Western Avenue
Guilderland, New York 12084-9071
Collection includes online databases with surname search, church index, cemetery list and transcriptions and land search.
Nassau Free Library–Genealogy
18 Church Street
Nassau, NY 12123.
Ralph Philllips Genealogical Collection. Online database of surnames.
New York State Museum/People of Albany County Live Here
Online collection of articles and pages about Albany County. Includes biographies of early residents, early laws, military records, county census transcriptions, church records, maps, and will transcriptions.
New York State Archives
Cultural Education Center
222 Madison Avenue
Albany, NY 12230
Phone: (518) 474-8955
New York State Library–Genealogy
Cultural Education Center
222 Madison Avenue
Albany, NY 12230
Phone: (518) 474-5161 Local History/Genealogy desk
Collection includes local histories, DAR records, church records, early newspapers, city directories, surname card files, and vital records.
Rensselaer County Historical Society Library
57 Second Street
Troy, NY 12180
Library, archives and research center.
Rensselaer, New York City History Research Center
Rensselaer City Hall
62 Washington St.
Rensselaer, NY 12144 second floor.
Collection includes city and county histories, directories, newspapers, local family manuscripts, church records, and local society and business records.
Troy Public Library
100 Second Street
Troy, NY 12180
Phone: (518) 274–7071
The Troy Room Collection contains hundreds of books, pamphlets, and other local history and genealogy documents. Works by local authors, Troy City Directories, local newspapers, family histories, and census records are all part of this valuable collection.
Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Most historical records for Albany County are at the Hall of Records. For further information about where the records for Albany County are held, see the Albany County Courthouse page.
- Albany County Hall of Records
- 95 Tivoli Street
- Albany, NY 12207
- Phone: 518-436-3663
- Fax: 518-436-3678
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist in the study of genealogy.
The FHC for Albany County is located in Albany. Be sure to call and visit their wiki page for hours of service and other information.
- Albany New York Family History Center
- 411 Loudon Rd>
- Loudonville, Albany, New York, United States
- Phone: 518-463-2566
For additional Family History Center addresses, search this online FHC directory.
Social Groups Online[edit | edit source]
Rootsweb message board for Albany county has many information threads about families that resided in that county. There is a search engine that allows you to search by surname and topic.
Societies[edit | edit source]
Taxation[edit | edit source]
The Albany County Clerk's Office Hall of Recordshas Tax Rolls for Albany County from 1813 to 1990 in their Historical Records for the following Municipalities: Albany (1813-1990), Berne, Bethlehem, Coeymans, Cohoes, Colonie, Knox, Green Island, Guilderland, New Scotland, Rensselaerville, Watervliet and Westerlo. See the town or city wiki page for details.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records of birth, marriage or death were first recorded at the local level in the village clerk, town clerk, or city clerk’s ledger book. The actual document was then forwarded to the Department of Health in Albany city. If you know where a birth, marriage or death took place, a copy of the certificate or record may be obtained by writing to the town, village or city clerk. These clerks are generally faster than the Department of Health in providing the copies of certificates. For instance, if you knew your ancestor died in the Rensselaerville, Albany, New York, in 1862, contacting the town clerk there would be helpful to see if they have records in their ledger book for that time period. Albany births and deaths 1848, births 1866 to present, and deaths 1870 to the present can be obtained for a fee from: Registrar of Vital Statistics. There is a fifty year restriction on death and marriage records, and a seventy-five year restriction on birth records. There is the additional restriction that you prove all parties are dead to obtain a birth or marriage record. The year restrictions are waived for a direct line descendant.Some marriage records may be kept at the Albany County hall of Records from 1870-1946.
See New York Vital Records for more information about Vital records in New York.
Births[edit | edit source]
Marriages[edit | edit source]
Deaths[edit | edit source]
Divorces[edit | edit source]
- 1884-1919 Divorce decrees FHL Film 1301982 item 2
Voting Registers[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Albany County, New York" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Albany_County,_New_York (accessed 17 September 2011).
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 488. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook, 847-61.
- Frederick Phisterer, New York in the War of the Rebellion, 3rd ed. (Albany, N.Y.: J. B. Lyon Company, 1912). Internet Archive digital copy.