User:Denisepoulsen/Sandbox/TempAlways

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Washington County, Iowa ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Washington
Organized: January 18, 1838
Parent County(s): Henry, Louisa, Muscatine
Neighboring Counties
Henry  • Iowa  • Jefferson  • Johnson  • Keokuk  • Louisa
See County Maps
Courthouse
Iowa, Washington County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Iowa Washington Map.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for George Washington. The County has Washington as its seat and the County was created 1838. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Washington County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1880 1844 1880 1836 1839 1836 1847
* Statewide registration started for births in July 1880 and for deaths January 1891. General compliance by 1924.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[4]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Washington County, Iowa online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Iowa recorded not only federal, but state censuses for several in-between years as well. For more information, see the very informative Iowa Census article.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1850 4,957
1860 14,235 187.2%
1870 18,952 33.1%
1880 20,374 7.5%
1890 18,468 −9.4%
1900 20,718 12.2%
1910 19,925 −3.8%
1920 20,421 2.5%
1930 19,822 −2.9%
1940 20,055 1.2%
1950 19,557 −2.5%
1960 19,406 −0.8%
1970 18,967 −2.3%
1980 20,141 6.2%
1990 19,612 −2.6%
2000 20,670 5.4%
2010 21,704 5.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. They include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded and housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Washington County, which may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Iowa Local Histories.

The History of Washington County, Iowa

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For online maps and collections in libraries and societies, see Iowa Maps. Historical maps may be especially useful.

Iowa CountyJohnson CountyLouisa CountyHenry CountyJefferson CountyKeokuk CountyIA WASHINGTON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Multiple Wars

Civil War

Civil War
Civil War service men in Washington County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 1st Regiment, Iowa Cavalry, Company F
- 2nd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
- 7th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
- 8th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
- 10th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
- 11th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company F
- 13th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
- 13th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
- 17th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
- 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
- 19th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
- 25th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company A
- 25th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company I
- 30th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company E
- 30th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
- 31st Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
- 45th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company B

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Iowa tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. Iowa's unique Old Age Assistance tax gives names, addresses and birth years. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded by civil officials on registers, certificates, and other documents. Copies or extracts may be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office. See also Iowa Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Washington County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 446
Washington IA 52353-0446
Washington County Historical Society
P.O. Box 924
Washington, Iowa 52353
Telephone:319-653-4329
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Washington, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_County,_Iowa."
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Washington County, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_County,_Iowa, accessed 2 November 2019.