User:Caleblove1/Sandbox/123

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Under construction icon-blue.png This project page or section is in the middle of an expansion or major restructuring. If this article has not been edited in several days, please remove this template.

Europe Gotoarrow.pngIceland

Iceland Research Topics
Flag of Iceland.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Iceland Background
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for Iceland is Baird

Guide to Iceland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Country Information[edit | edit source]

Iceland was settled by Vikings in 874. Governed by Denmark since 1381, it was acknowledged as a sovereign state under the Danish king in 1918. It gained full independence as a republic in 1944.[1]

Check this site for a short overview of the country.

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting Started with Iceland Research

Links to articles on getting started with Iceland research.

See More Research Strategies

Iceland Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in United States research.

See More Research Tools


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button.png

Iceland Clickable Map[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the state level in Iceland. Click on a state below to go to the state Wiki article listing more information.


Icelandmap.jpg

States[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the state level in the United States. Click on a state below to go to the state Wiki article listing more information.

Territories and Federal District[edit | edit source]

There are five territories and one federal district under the jurisdiction of the United States.

Former Territories[edit | edit source]

There are six former territories of the United States.

More Iceland Research Strategies[edit | edit source]

Research strategies give guidance on how to research or what records to search for first. Below are additional research strategy Wiki articles for Iceland.

More Iceland Research Tools[edit | edit source]

Research tools can include resources that assist in locating correct records to search and determining the correct locality to search in. Below are links and Wiki articles to research tools in Iceland.


FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.













OLD CONTENT[edit | edit source]


Iceland Glaumbaer


{{{link}}}


Research Tools[edit | edit source]

|}


Featured Content[edit | edit source]

Thanks to Hálfdan Helgason, 1816 Iceland census has searchable PDF files with headers in English.

Also see the Iceland GenWeb at Íslenski Ættfræðivefurinn.

Useful Websites[edit | edit source]


References[edit | edit source]

  1. The Family History Department of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, “Family History Record Profile: Iceland,” Word document, private files of the FamilySearch Content Strategy Team, 1988-1997.

...