User:Batsondl/Sandbox Test 2

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Pulaski County

Guide to Pulaski County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Important Resources
 • Births
 • Marriages
 • Deaths
 • Census

 • Cemeteries     


County Facts
Organized: December 15, 1818
County seat: Little Rock
Courthouse: Pulaski County Courthouse
401 W Markham Street
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone 501.340.8500
Cities and Towns: See list
Parent County(s): Arkansas[1]
Boundary Changes: See details
Record Loss: See details
Variant Spellings:
Neighboring Counties
Faulkner  • Grant  • Jefferson  • Lonoke  • Perry  • Saline
See County Maps
Location Map
Ar-pulaski.png
Adoption

This page is available for adoption


{{{link}}}

County Information

Pulaski County, Arkansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1914 1839 1914 1819 1820

County Courthouse

Pulaski County Courthouse
401 W Markham Street
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone 501.340.8500

County Clerk has marriage records from 1838, probate records from 1820, voter registration records from 1952, real estate tax records from 1828, personal property tax records from 1869 and poll tax from 1892; Clerk Circuit Court has court, land an naturalization records; Clerk Chancery Court has divorce records; History Commission has probate court records before 1920.[3]

Government and Related Websites

  • County-clerk.net (unofficial site) - Clerks have jurisdiction over birth certificates, death certificates, marriage licenses, land use, land rights, real estate, and other court records. Site provides links to unofficial websites with online records
  • PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) - Provides links to County officials and public records

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Boundary Changes

  • 1818--Pulaski County was created 15 December 1818 from Arkansas County.  County seat: Little Rock [4]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Cities and Towns

Template:AR Cities and Towns Intro

Select a town below for items listed in the FamilySearch Catalog:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Online Pulaski County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Pulaski County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • Find A Grave — Scroll through pages and select the cemetery to search

More cemetery lists

Census Records

1820--Census is missing.

Church Records

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Little Rock

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • Biographies from The History of Pulaski County, Arkansas (1889) published by Goodspeed Publishing Company are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.

Guardianship

  • 1818-1920 — Probate Records Pulaski County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 — Includes Administration records 1839-1902; County Court records 1846-1857; Guardianship 1864-1911; Probate packets 1819-1920; Wills 1818-1849; and more — at FamilySearch (Free, browse images)

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Pulaski, Jefferson, Lonoke, Faulkner, Grant, Saline, Perry, Garland, and Hot Spring Counties, Arkansas. Chicago, Nashville, and St. Louis, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1889. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Click on a neighboring county to go to the wiki page.
{{{1}}}
Pulaski CountyLonoke CountyJefferson CountyGrant CountyHot Spring CountySaline CountyFaulkner CountyConway CountyPerry CountyPope CountyWhite CountyGarland CountyPrairie CountyARPulaski.JPG


Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include"an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Arkansas section begins on page 439.]

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Pulaski County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Colquitt's) (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Company D
- 4th Battalion, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies A, B, C, D and E
- 6th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate),
- 20th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies G and I
- 36th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Companies G and K.


- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[5], Companies C, G, H, K, L and M
- 4th Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)


Civil War Battle Fought in Pulaski County

The following Civil War battle was fought in Pulaski County.

  • 1863 - September 10 = Bayou Forche, also known as Little Rock[6]
Map showing Civil War battles in Arkansas.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

  • 1818-1920 — Probate Records Pulaski County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 — Includes Administration records 1839-1902; County Court records 1846-1857; Guardianship 1864-1911; Probate packets 1819-1920; Wills 1818-1849; and more — at FamilySearch (Free, browse images)

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Libraries

Major catalogs for books, microfilm, or collections pertaining to Pulaski County

Museums

Societies

Websites

Sites with online indexes or images of records

  • ARGenWeb - Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives - Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb resources - Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions

More Pulaski County genealogy links

  • Linkpendium - Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList - Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • StateofUS - family history resources and government records


Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 70.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  6. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 26 April 2012).
  7. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.