Liv was born in Kristiansund, Norway, and had her first encounter with genealogy at the Trondheim Archive at age 12. She came to the United States by herself in February of 1968.
After getting settled in Salt Lake City, Utah, she decided to get busy researching her family history. She visited what was at that time called the Genealogical Society of Utah, located on main street a walking distance from where she was sharing a house with room mates in the Avenues. She started by searching for her grandparents in the Lutheran Church Records. By the time she had researched four generations on both of her parents lines she had learned how to search the parish registers, census records and the farm books for Norway. Around this time the library moved to the new Church office building where it was located on the 4 floors of the West Wing. Here she learned how to use emigration, probate and mortgage records for Norway.
This became a great hobby, and by the time the library moved to the present site she learned how to use military, guardian, and court records. By now she had identified many of her ancestors and enjoyed helping others as they came for assistance at the Reference Counter.
Liv has worked for the Church in Family History for a total of 35 years. The first 5 years in the Evaluation Department, processing Individual entry sheets, and marriage entry sheets for temple work; the next 11 years in the Cataloging Department, and since November of 1995 as a Scandinavian Research Consultant.
Laders Business College, Norway (1966)
- Swedish, BYU Rexburg, Idaho
- Norwegian, BYU Provo, Utah
- English at the Salt Lake Community College
Certified Genealogists CG, Accredited Genealogist AG
- Board of Certified Genealogists, Washington, DC http://www.bcgcertification.org/
- Accredited Genealogicst, ICAPGen specializing in Norwegian research. http://www.icapgen.org/icapgen/aglist
Taught the following classes:
- Stake Extraction of Norwegian Records 1980's.
- Norwegian, Swedish and Danish Research on the Internet at the Salt Lake Institute (1996).
- Finding them on the Internet:Norwegian Research at the Salt Lake Institute (2001).
- Norwegian Genealogy for the National Genealogical Society (NGS), in Milwaukee, Wisconsin (2002).
- Danish Genealogy for the National Genealogical Society (NGS) in Milwaukee, Wisconsin (2002).
- Finnish Genealogy for the National Genealogical Society (NGS), in Milwaukee, Wisconsin (2002).
- Norwegian Vital Records, Probate Records and Gothic Script at the Idaho Falls Family History Conference in 2007.
- Norwegian Vital Records, Court Records, Probate and Emigration Records in Salem, Oregon 2008.
- The Internet: Norwegian Church & Probate Records for The Salt Lake Institute of Genealogy, 2008.
- Icelandic Histories & Norwegian Bygdebøker Use Caution: Lars is NOT That Lars! for The Salt Lake Institute of Genealogy, 2008.
- Scandinavian Research in Bismark, ND (2008).
- Norwegian Research in Bismark, ND (2008).
- Norwegian Series two times each year at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City, UT(1996 to present).
- Introduction to Scandinavian Research once each year at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City, UT (2002-present) and at the Taylorsville Family History Fair in 2002.
- Norwegian Gazetteers once a year at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City, UT (2003-2008).
- Tracing your Ancestors in Norway once a year at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City, UT (2004-2008).
- Exploring Church Records in Norway once a year at the Family History Library (FHL). 2014.
- How to use the Norwegian gazetteers. Family History Library (FHL) 2014.
- Exploring Emigration Records for Norway. Family History Library (FHL) 2014.
- Exploring Census records in Norway. Family History Library (FHL) 2014.
- Exploring Probate Records in Norway. Family History Library (FHL) 2014.
- How to use the Norwegian Historical Data Center. University of Tromsø, Norway. FHL 2014.
- Online Resources for Norway at the Welby Family History Fair, West Jordan, UT, 2009.
- Norwegian Research (Case History) NGS Conference in Salt Lake City, 2010.
- Case Study: How to find ancestors in Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway. Ogden Family History Confereance of Roots and Brancehes at Weber State University's History Department and The Ogden Familysearch Library. September 13, 2014.
- Finding John Johnsson in Sweden. Published in the National Genealogical Society Qarterly, March 2007.
- Finding Records of Your Ancestors, Part A NORWAY 1827 to 1900.
- Research Outline for Norway.
- Norwegian Word List
- Understanding Norwegian Church Records. Published by Trøndelag Bygdelag (Trøndelag Newsletter), March 2016.
- Sons of Norway http://www.sofn.com/home/index.jsp
- Trønderlag of Norwegian-American Bygdelagenes Fellesraad (NABF) http://www.tronderlag.org/
- National Genealogical Society (NGS) http://www.ngsgenealogy.org/
FamilySearch Blog Articles
- Who is Bernt Conders? https://familysearch.org/blog/en/who-is-bernt-conders/
- Another Great Source for Finding Norwegian Ancestors: the Jacob Hersleb Horneman Collection https://familysearch.org/blog/en/another-great-source-for-finding-norwegian-ancestors-the-jacob-hersleb-horneman-collection/
- Another Great Source to Find Norwegian Americans: The Andrew Ansel Rowberg Collection https://familysearch.org/blog/en/?s=Ansel+
- Probate Card Indexes in Norway https://familysearch.org/blog/en/probate-card-indexes-in-norway/
- A Great Source for Finding Norwegian Ancestors: The Wilhelm Lassen Collection https://familysearch.org/blog/en/a-great-source-for-finding-norwegian-ancestors-the-wilhelm-lassen-collection/
- The Munthe Collection: A Source for Finding Norwegian Ancestors https://familysearch.org/blog/en/the-munthe-collection-a-source-for-finding-norwegian-ancestors/
- The Norwegian Periodical Index at the Family History Library https://familysearch.org/blog/en/the-norwegian-periodical-index-at-the-family-history-library/
- The Scandinavian Feast Day Calendars https://familysearch.org/blog/en/scandinavian-feast-day-calendars/
- Norway Census Records https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Norway_Census
*Norway Death Notices https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Norway_Death_Notices
*Norway Gazetteers https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Norway_Gazetteers
*Norway History https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Norway_History
*Norway Land and Property https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Norway_Land_and_Property
*Norway Maps https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Norway_Maps
*Norway Matrikkel https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Norway_Matrikkel
*Norway MIlitary Records https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Norway_Military_Records
*Norway Periodicals https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Norway_Periodicals
*Norway Probate Records https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Norway_Probate_Records
*Norway Schools https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Norway_Schools
*Norway Societies https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Norway_Societies
*Norway Archives and Libraries https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Norway_Archives_and_Libraries *Norway Guardianship https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Norway_Guardianship *Norway Civil Registration https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Civil_Registration_Norway *Norway Church Records https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Norway_Church_Records *Norway Court Records https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Norway_Court_Records *Norway Names Personal https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Norway_Names_Personal *Norway Parish Listing https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Parish_Listing_Norway *Norway Periodicals https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Norway_Periodicals *Norway Priest Histories https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Priest_Histories *Norway Probate Records https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Norway_Probate_Records *Norway Schools https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Norway_Schools *Norway Societies https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Norway_Societies *Norway Weight and Measurement in old Norway https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/Weight_and_Measurement_in_Old_Norway
*Norway: How to Search Census Records in Norway. https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/0/07/SYLLABUS_Census_recod_Webinar_2014FS%281%29_-_Copy.pdf