To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

User:AdkinsWH/Sandbox Temp 9

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Avery County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Newland
Organized: 1911
Parent County(s): Caldwell[1]
Neighboring Counties
Burke  • Caldwell  • Carter (TN)  • Johnson (TN)  • McDowell  • Mitchell  • Watauga
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaAveryCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nc-avery.png
Adoption
Logonew small.gif This user is a member of NCGenWeb Project, an organization that has adopted some pages in the wiki.

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Avery County is located in the Northwestern portion of North Carolina and shares a border with Tennessee. It was named for Col. Waightstill Avery, a Revolutionary War officer and the first attorney general of North Carolina[2].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Avery County North Carolina
Main Street
Newland, NC 28640
Phone: 828-733-8262
County Website

Clerk Superior Court has divorce, probate, court & land from 1911.

Avery County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913 1911 1913 1911 1911 1920

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Avery County, North Carolina:

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Avery County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Johnson CountyCarter CountyWatauga CountyCaldwell CountyBurke CountyMitchell CountyNC AVERY.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Online Records

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

  • Avery County Historical Museum
    1829 Shultz Circle
    PO Box 266
    Newland, NC 28657
    Telephone Number: 828-733-7111 or 765-4247
    E-mail:averymuseum@gmail.com
    Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Toe Valley Genealogical Society
    491 Beaver Creek Road
    Spruce Pine, NC 28777
    website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • NCGenWeb: Avery County genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project
  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/avery
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Iginorthcarolinaa.pdf.
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at [1]




To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.