|Uruguay Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Uruguay ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.
Country Information[edit | edit source]
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Uruguay Research
Links to articles on getting started with Uruguay research.
Uruguay Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Uruguay research.
Uruguay Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Departments[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the department level in Uruguay. Click on a department below to go to the department Wiki article listing more information.
Uruguay is divided into 19 departments (departamentos, singular - departamento):
- Cerro Largo
- Río Negro
- San José
- Treinta y Tres
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Uruguay Historical Records
- Family History Center locator map
Research Tutorials[edit | edit source]
- Search page
- Introduction to Hispanic Research
- Reading Spanish Handwritten Records:
- Lesson 1: The Spanish Alphabet
- Lesson 2: Words and Dates
- Lesson 3: Reading Spanish Records
- Hispanic Online Resources
- U.S. Hispanic Immigration
- U.S. Hispanic Immigrants: Finding their Place of Origin
- Improve your Search Results in FamilySearch Hispanic Records
Online Records[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Uruguay," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uruguay, accessed 20 April 2016.