Urchfont with Stert, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Wiltshire
Wiltshire Parishes
Urchfont with Stert

Guide to Urchfont with Stert, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Urchfont with Stert, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Swanborough
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Devizes
Registration District Devizes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Stert beginning 1579
Bishop's Transcripts: 1622; Separate records exist for Stert beginning 1580
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Potterne
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

URCHFONT (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Devizes, hundred of Swansborough, Devizes and N. divisions of Wilts, 5 miles (S. E.) from Devizes, with that of Stert annexed. Here is a place of worship for Baptists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stert parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[7]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[8]
STERT PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1579-1812
1585-1838

FREG
1579-1812

JOIN
1585-1812

NBI

1581-1836
TGEN
1579-1812

Urchfont parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

URCHFONT PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1597, 1653-1906
1653-1906

FREG
1538-1812

IGI 1632-1653 1632-1653
JOIN
1538-1812

NIM 1538-1837
1538-1837
1538-1837
TGEN
1538-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 424-428. Date accessed: 09 October 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 January 2014.
  3. 'Wiltshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Wiltshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 January 2014.
  5. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.
  7. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  8. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.