Upwell, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Cambridgeshire
Cambridgeshire Parishes
Upwell

Guide to Upwell, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Upwell, Cambridgeshire
St Peter's Church, Upwell .jpg
St Peter's Church, Upwell
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Clackclose; Wisbeach
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Wisbech
Registration District Downham; Wisbeach
Records begin
Parish registers: 1650
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fincham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

Upwell (St. Peter), is a village and a sub-district in Wisbeach district, and a parish that is partly in Downham district, it is in the Isle of Ely and covers part of Cambridgeshire and part  Norfolk. The village is 4¾ miles E of Pear-Tree railway station, and 6 miles SE by S of Wisbeach; it has a post-office under Wisbeach. The parish includes Welney chapelry.   There are places of worship for Baptists and Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Wisbech 1837-1938
  • Downham 1938-1974

Church records

Upwell parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Cam BTs = England, Cambridgeshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1599-1860 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP = Cambridgeshire Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes (FindMyPast) - free
ANC = Ancestry - ($)
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Upwell Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
Cam BTs 1599-1860
1599-1860
1599-1860
FS 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
FREG 1539-1950
1540-1949
1540-1966
FMP 1538-1950
1538-1973
1538-1950
NBI



1538-1939
BOYD

1538-1850


ANC 1538-1975
1538–1973
1538-1991
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Copies of parish registers are also available through the Society of Genealogists and the Cambridge Archives.

Non Conformist Churches
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Reform

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241227.
To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee or free.
findmypast (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
Ancestry.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
The Genealogist.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
FreeCen is a free based UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

http://www.btinternet.com/~e.c.apling/1891Census/Upwell.htm transcript of 1891 census

Poor Law Unions

For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Wisbech/Wisbech.shtml

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

http://apling.freeservers.com/Villages/Upwell54.htm Francis White's History, Gazetteer and Directory of Norfolk 1854, pp. 641-3 transcript

Websites

Upwell on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed and adapted: 5 June 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

http://www.achurchnearyou.com/upwell-st-peter/ for information about the church

http://www.achurchnearyou.com/upwell-christchurch-christ-church/