Upton in Overchurch, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Upton in Overchurch, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Upton in Overchurch, Cheshire|
|Poor Law Union||Macclesfield|
|Registration District||Great Boughton|
|Parish registers: 1853|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
UPTON, is a village and a parish in Wirrall district, Cheshire. The village stands 4 miles West of Birkenhead railway station; and has a post-office under Birkenhead. The parish is sometimes called Over-church.
Upton (Overchurch), St. Mary is the ancient parish church for Upton by Birkenhead in the Wirral Hundred of Cheshire.
Upton was listed in the Domesday Book of 1086 as Optone and was written as being in the possession of William Mallbank. Upton was the primary economic centre of northern Wirral until the industrial development of Birkenhead during the mid-19th century.
Upton was a township and parish in the Wirral Hundred, which included the nearby hamlet of Overchurch.
There is evidence of a church building at Overchurch from about 600 AD. A Runic Stone was discoverd at Overchurch dating between 700-900 AD. The stone invited people to 'pray for Aethelmund'.
There followed a Norman church which was damaged by storms and destroyed by a fire in 1813.
A small chapel existed on Greenbank for a few years before the accerating growth of population prompted the need for a larger church building.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Upton in Overchurch parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Upton in Overchurch Online Parish Records|
|FMP Diocese PRs||1538-1911||1538-1910||1538-1911|
|FMP Diocese BTs||1576-1906||1576-1906||1576-1906|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Upton, St. Joseph (Roman Catholic). Founded 1863.
- Upton, Presbyterian Church, Ford Road. Built in 1898.
Church records of St. Joseph's Catholic Church, Upton, 1914-1940 Microfilm copy of originals at the Cheshire Record Office in Chester, England. Cheshire Record Office call no.: ERC 28/5473/1. Mostly Latin.
Baptisms, 1914-1940. VAULT BRITISH Film 2197776 Item 2
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
- Wirral (1837–1937)
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Upton in Overchurch (see upton by Birkenhead) on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 16 April 2013
Bibliography[edit | edit source]
"Set upon a hill- The story of St.Mary's Church and Parish, Upton, Wirral" by Robert Pullen and Kenneth Burnley. Eaton Press Ltd, Wallasey, Wirral.