Upton Pyne, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Devon
Devon Parishes
Upton Pyne

Guide to Upton Pyne, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Upton Pyne, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wonford
County Devon
Poor Law Union St Thomas
Registration District St Thomas
Records begin
Parish registers: 1673
Bishop's Transcripts: 1612
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cadbury
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History

UPTON-PYNE, a parish, in the union of St. Thomas, hundred of Wonford, Wonford and S. divisions of Devon, 3¼ miles (N. by W.) from Exeter. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Upton Pyne, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Devon Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Upton Pyne, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1673-1915 1673-1915 1688-1915 1688-1915
IGI 1612-1837 1620-1644, 1664-1675, 1687-1837
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Upton Pyne on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 422-424. Date accessed: 05 November 2013.
  2. 'Devon Parish Records Coverage,' Findmypast, accessed 15 November 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.