Upton, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Upton, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Newton Abbot|
|Registration District||Newton Abbot|
|Parish registers: 1849|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
UPTON St Mary Magdalene was constituted a district church in June 1848 and the building was designed by Anthony Salvin, and built by Jacob Harvey and his sons, the church was consecrated on 12th April 1849. There was a burial ground surrounding the church, with the first internment on 11 February 1850. This church contains memorials to Rev William Scoresby, who was an eminent Arctic Explorer and scientific philosopher. He was a curate of the church and lived in Torquay for many years He is buried in the churchyard.
A Gazetter entry from John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales describes it in this way.
MILTON (SOUTH), a village and a parish in Kingsbridge district, Devon. The village stands near the coast, 3 miles WSW of Kingsbridge r. station; and was anciently known as Middleton. The parish contains also the hamlets of Sutton and Upton. Post town, West Alvington, under Kingsbridge.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Upton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Upton Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Devon Archives and Local Studies.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Upton (see Torquay St Mary) on GENUKI