Upshur County, West Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Upshur County, West Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Upshur County, West Virginia|
Location in the state of West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
|Founded||March 26, 1851|
|Address|| Upshur County Courthouse|
40 West Main Street #101
Buckhannon, WV 26201 304-472-1068
Upshur County Website
- 1 County Courthouse
- 2 County Information
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
County Clerk has birth, marriage, death & land records from 1853
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce Probate County Records
Upshur County, West Virginia Record Dates
For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information.|
- Upshur County, West Virginia Political Graveyard.com
- Westfall Cemeteries, Upshur County, West Virginia
- Banks District cemetery readings (Upshur County West Virginia) Includes index
- Upshur County, West Virginia, obituaries and news itemsIncludes index
- Random Acts WV Cemetery Records Research Guide
- Maps of West Virginia (1617-1995)
- Map of 1850 Virginia and West Virginia
- Upshur County, West Virginia Map
Regiments. Service men in Upshur County, West Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Upshur County, West Virginia Genealogy:
- - 1st Regiment, West Virginia Light Artillery, Battery E Light Artillery.
Records and histories are available, including:
- 1861 - 1865 West Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
- 1861 - 1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- Upshur County Military Records
- West Virginia Archives Union Milia Rosters Upshur County
Online Probate Records
- 1724 - 1978 West Virginia Wills and Probate Records 1724-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1756 - 1971 West Virginia Will Books 1756-1971 at [https:/familysearch.org/ FamilySearch] — index and images
- 1852 - 1955 Upshur County, West Virginia Will Books 1852-1955
- West Virginia Will Books
Online West Virginia Tax site
West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.
Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.
The search for tax information can start here
- West Virginia Vital Records: Birth, Death, Marriages
. Includes marriages 1853-1970 - free.
Societies and Libraries
- Methodist Historical Society
- West Virginia Wesleyan College
Annie M Pfeiffer Library
Buckhannon, West Virginia 26201
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Learning How to Edit our Wiki Sites
- Upshur County, WV History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Upshur Surnames
- Upshur Families
- Hacker's Creek Pioneer Descendants, Inc.
- WV Genweb Archives Project
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Upshur County, West Virginia. Page 746 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Richard L. Armstrong, 25th Virginia Infantry and 9th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 71.