Upshur County, West Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
West Virginia
Upshur County

Guide to Upshur County, West Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Buckhannon
Organized: March 26, 1851
Parent County(s): Randolph, Barbour, Lewis[1]
Neighboring Counties
Barbour  • Harrison  • Lewis  • Randolph  • Webster
See County Maps
Courthouse
Upshur County, West Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Wv-upshur.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Upshur County Courthouse
40 West Main Street, #101
Buckhannon, WV 26201
Phone: 304-472-1068
Upshur County Website

County Clerk has birth, marriage, death and land records from 1853.
Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce, probate, and county records.[2]

Upshur County, West Virginia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1853 1851 1852 1860

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1851--Upshur County was created 26 March 1851 from Randolph, Barbour and Lewis Counties.
  • County seat: Buckhannon[3]

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Upshur County, West Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Upshur census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See West Virginia Land and Property for additional information about early West Virginia land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Upshur County, West Virginia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section West Virginia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Upshur County

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Upshur served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Upshur County:
Union

- 1st Regiment, West Virginia Light Artillery, Battery E Light Artillery.

Confederate

- 25th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Heck's). Company A (Upshur Grays).[4]

Records and histories are available, including:

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Online West Virginia Tax site

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Upshur County Public Library
    Website
  • West Virginia Wesleyan College
    Annie M Pfeiffer Library
    College Avenue
    Buckhannon, WV 26201
    Phone: 304-473-8059

Museums

Societies

  • Upshur County Historical Society
    Box 753
    Buckhannon, WV 26201
    Website
  • Methodist Historical Society

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Richard L. Armstrong, 25th Virginia Infantry and 9th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 71.