Upper Head, Cumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Upper Head, Cumberland)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Cumberland
Cumberland Parishes
Upper Head

Guide to Upper Head, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Upper Head, Cumberland
Type Township
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cumberland
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Carlisle
Registration District Carlisle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: 1846
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Carlisle
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Township History

UPPERBY, a township, in the parish of St. Cuthbert, Carlisle, union of Carlisle, Cumberland ward, E. division of Cumberland, 1¾ mile (S. E. by S.) from Carlisle.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Parish registers for Upperby, 1846-1930

Church records, 1846-1944

Bishop's transcripts Upperby, 1846-1889

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Church of England Parishes (and Chapelries)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed and adapted 8 August 2013.