To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Upper Hardres, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Upper Hardres

Guide to Upper Hardres, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Upper Hardres, Kent
Upper Hardres St Peter & St Paul Kent.jpg
Upper Hardres St Peter & St Paul Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bridge and Petham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Bridge
Registration District Bridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1764
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridge
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

HARDRES, UPPER (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Bridge, hundred of Bridge and Petham, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 5 miles (S.) from Canterbury. [1]


Upper Hardres is a village and civil parish in the City of Canterbury district of Kent, see Upper Hardres Wikipedia.

Upper Hardres St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary will be found at A church near you.

The Hardres family owned the lands of this parish and Lower Hardres, Kent (pronounced "Hards") from the 12th century.

The church is designated Grade I listed by English Heritage as a Norman church. Some windows date from 1200 and include glass bought from Stelling, Kent church in the 18th century.

The Parish church of St Peter and St Paul Hardres Court Road, Upper Hardres has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 304-309 Hardres+ at British History Online and Kent Churches website


Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Bridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Upper Hardres parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Upper Hardres Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1538-1988
1538-1997
1538-2010
FMP Canterbury 1538-1918
1538-1934
1538-1998
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Kent Online Parish Clerks has indexes available for select parishes. Records are also available at the Kent Archives.

Land Tax[edit | edit source]

Images for Upper Hardres are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1832

Images for Acrise, Elham, Stelling and Upper Hardres are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1832

Elham is a sub-district and a parish. The sub-district includes the parishes of Stelling and Acrise. There is no information regarding Upper Hardres. Elham is included in items 5-7, while Stelling and Upper Hardes are in item 6, and Acrise is in item 7.

Kent Archives Office reference: Q/RPL/120-122



Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.



 

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Bridge Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate - FamilySearch Historical Records

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 407-409. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk