University of Georgia Main Library

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States go to Georgia go to Clarke Gotoarrow.png Archives and Libraries go to University of Georgia Main Library

University of Georgia Main Library
UGAMainLibrary.jpg

Contact Information

E-mail:[1]  Ask a question form

Address:

Main Library[2]
320 S. Jackson Street
Athens, GA 30602-1641

Hargrett Special Collections[3]
300 S. Hull Street
Athens, GA 30602

Telephone:  Main Library 706-542-3251;[2]  Hargrett Special Collections 706-542-7123[3]
Fax:  Hargrett Special Collections 706-542-0672[3]

Hours and holidays:

  • Main Library Mon-Thu 7:30am - 2am; Fri 7:30am - 9pm; Sat 10am - 7pm; Sun 1pm - 2am[4]
  • Special Collections Mon-Fri 8am - 5pm; Sat 1pm - 5pm; Sun Closed[5]
  • UGA holidays

Directions, parking, maps, and public transportation:

Internet sites and databases:

  • University of Georgia Libraries search tools, services, libraries and collections, research help, about us, contact us, catalog, news and events.
  • GIL Library catalog online
    Logo wcmasthead en.png
    searchable by keyword, author, title, subject, series, ISBN, ISSN, or date. Also available in WorldCat.
  • Online Resources University of Georgia Libraries, GILFind - UGA Libraries catalog, Digital Library of Georgia, New Georgia Encyclopedia, Civil Rights Digital Library, Brown Media Archives @ UGA - YouTube Channel, Hargrett Library Digital Collections, Russell Library Digital Collections.

Collection Description

They have the largest collection in the state of manuscripts about early Georgia settlers. Also, they hold county histories, county records, family records, biographies and newspapers.[6]

Both the Main Library, and the Hargrett Rare Books and Manuscripts Library (in the separate Russell Special Collections Building) contain genealogical materials.

  • Main Library users have access to the databases of the Ancestry.com library edition, and how-to guides for Georgia family history.[7] The Main Library also has published and newspaper vital records and obituaries.[8] Military records include Revolutionary War, and Civil War records such as Confederate and Union rosters, and unit histories.[9] They also hold both American and old Georgia newspapers,[10] and federal census records for the southeastern states 1790 to 1920.[11] This library serves as Georgia's regional depository for documents published by the Federal government as well as the official depository for documents published by the State of Georgia.[12]
  • Hargrett Special Collections is focused on Georgia history and culture, including rare books and Georgiana, historical manuscripts, photographs, maps, broadsides, the University of Georgia archives, performing arts, and natural history. Holdings date from the 15th century. Rare books and Georgiana have a comprehensive collection of published works on Georgia. There are about 1,500 historical maps covering the 1500s-1900s, and United Daughters of the Confederacy rosters.[5]
    • To use Special Collections all researchers are asked to register.[5]

Tips

Guides

  • Genealogy Guide Main library reference, Special Collections, websites, other local libraries, suggestions for searching GIL for genealogy, obituaries, military records, newspapers, and census records.
  • Archival Research @ UGA Special Collections: A How-To Guide what are archives?, how do I do archival research?, things to know before you go, what's so special about UGA's Special Collections?

Alternate Repositories

If you cannot visit or find a record at the University of Georgia Main Library, a similar record may be available at one of the following.

Overlapping Collections

  • National Archives I, Washington DC, census, pre-WWI military service & pensions, passenger lists, naturalizations, passports, federal bounty land, homesteads, bankruptcy, ethnic sources, prisons, and federal employees.[13]
  • National Archives at Atlanta federal censuses, Ancestry.com, military, pensions, bounty-land, photos, passengers lists, naturalizations, Native Americans, African Americans, and workshops.[14]
  • Federal Records Center, Ellenwood, GA., receives federal agency and court records of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee.

Similar Collections

  • Georgia Archives, Morrow, is the best place to start family history research in Georgia.</ref> Genealogies, county histories, newspapers, tax digests, private papers, church records, cemeteries, Bible records, municipal records, census, maps, land plats, photographs, Georgia Confederate service and pension records, colonial, headright & bounty land grants, land lottery, and Georgia county records.

Neighboring Collections

Sources

  1. Ask a Question in University of Georgia Libraries (17 January 2016).
  2. 2.0 2.1 Directions/Parking in University of Georgia Libraries (17 January 2016).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Hargrett Rare Book & Manuscript Library Contact Information in University of Georgia Libraries (17 January 2016).
  4. Building Hours for Main and Science Libraries in University of Georgia Libraries (accessed 17 January 2016).
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 Hargrett Rare Book & Manuscripts Library in University of Georgia Libraries (17 January 2016).
  6. William Dollarhide and Ronald A. Bremer. America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, Utah: Heritage Quest, 1998), 33. WorldCat 39493985; FHL Ref Book 973 J54d.
  7. Genealogy at the UGA Libraries: Home in University of Georgia Libraries (accessed 17 January 2016).
  8. Genealogy at the UGA Libraries: Obituaries in University of Georgia Libraries (accessed 17 January 2016).
  9. Genealogy at the UGA Libraries: Military Records in University of Georgia Libraries (accessed 17 January 2016).
  10. Genealogy at the UGA Libraries: Newspapers in University of Georgia Libraries (accessed 17 January 2016).
  11. Genealogy at the UGA Libraries: Census Records in University of Georgia Libraries (accessed 17 January 2016).
  12. Map and Government Information Library in University of Georgia Libraries (accessed 17 January 2016).
  13. Dollarhide and Bremer, 2.
  14. Dollarhide and Bremer, 127-28.
  15. 15.0 15.1 15.2 Handybook for Genealogists (Logan, Utah : Everton Publishers Inc, 1999), 84. WorldCat 670125599; FHL Book 973 D27e 1999.
  16. Subject Guides in Athens Regional Library System (accessed 25 January 2016).
  17. William Dollarhide and Ronald A. Bremer. America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, Utah: Heritage Quest, 1998), 33. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Ref Book 973 J54d.
  18. Special Collections in Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System (accessed 8 January 2016).
  19. Dollarhide and Bremer, 33.
  20. CCGS Inventory an MS Excel database with link on Records - Digital and Print in Coweta County Genealogical Society (accessed 12 January 2016).
  21. Collections in DeKalb History Center (accessed 11 September 2015).
  22. Contact Us in Georgia Genealogical Society (accessed 8 January 2016).
  23. Living History Museum in Visit Ebenezer (accessed 11 September 2015).
  24. Huxford-Spear Genealogical Library History in Huxford Genealogical Society, Inc. (accessed 15 January 2016).
  25. Library Resources in The Thomasville Genealogical, History and Fine Arts Library (accessed 8 January 2016).
  26. William Dollarhide, and Ronald A. Bremer, America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, UT: Heritage Quest, 1988), 33. WorldCat 39493985; FHL Book 973 J54d.
  27. The Genealogical and Historical Room in Middle Georgia Regional Library (accessed 17 January 2016).
  28. Dollarhide and Bremer, 1.
  29. Dollarhide and Bremer, 107.