United States Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from United States of America)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States Wiki Topics
United States flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
United States Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
North America
United States

Guide to United States genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Country Information

The United States of America is a country in North America bordered by Canada and Mexico. Portions of the United States were formerly colonies of Great Britain, France, The Netherlands, Spain, and Russia. The official language is English. [1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with United States Research

Links to articles on getting started with United States research.

See More Research Strategies

United States Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in United States research.

See More Research Tools


{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

United States Clickable Map

Genealogy records are kept on the state level in the United States. Click on a state below to go to the state Wiki article listing more information.


WashingtonOregonCaliforniaIdahoHawaiiAlaskaNevadaMontanaWyomingUtahArizonaColoradoNew MexicoNorth DakotaSouth DakotaNebraskaKansasOklahomaTexasMinnesotaIowaMissouriArkansasLouisianaWisconsinMichiganIllinoisIndianaOhioKentuckyTennesseeMississippiAlabamaGeorgiaFloridaSouth CarolinaNorth CarolinaVirginiaWest VirginiaPennsylvaniaNew YorkVermontNew HampshireMaineMassachusettsRhode IslandConnecticutNew JerseyDelawareMarylandDistrict of ColumbiaUSimagemap.jpg

States

Genealogy records are kept on the state level in the United States. Click on a state below to go to the state Wiki article listing more information.

Territories and Federal District

There are five territories and one federal district under the jurisdiction of the United States.

Former Territories

There are six former territories of the United States.

More United States Research Strategies

Research strategies give guidance on how to research or what records to search for first. Below are additional research strategy Wiki articles for the United States.

More United States Research Tools

Research tools can include resources that assist in locating correct records to search and determining the correct locality to search in. Below are links and Wiki articles to research tools in the United States.


FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "United States," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_States, accessed 28 March 2016.