Union Parish, Louisiana Genealogy
Guide to Union Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Union Parish, Louisiana|
Location in the state of Louisiana
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
|Founded||March 13, 1839|
|Address|| 100 East Bayou Street|
Farmerville, LA 71241
- 1 Parish Information
- 2 Parish Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 African American Genealogy
- 5.2 Bible Records
- 5.3 Biographies
- 5.4 Cemeteries
- 5.5 Census
- 5.6 Church
- 5.7 Court
- 5.8 Land
- 5.9 Local Histories
- 5.10 Maps
- 5.11 Military
- 5.12 Newspapers
- 5.13 Obituaries
- 5.14 Probate
- 5.15 Taxation
- 5.16 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
The County was named for the Union of American states. The County has Farmerville as its seat and the County was created March 13, 1839. The County is located in the north central area of the state. 
Union Parish, Louisiana Record Dates
For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
Neighboring Parishes or Counties
African American Genealogy
- Union Parish, Louisiana, Slave & African–American Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Union Parish, Louisiana, Family Bible Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Family Bibles and Records, Union Parish (Genealogy Trails)
- Union Parish, Louisiana, Biographies (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Biographies of Union Parish Residents (USGenWeb Archives)
- Union Parish Louisiana Family Histories (USGenWeb Archives)
The following web sites may have additional information on Union Parish cemeteries.
- Interment.net Louisiana cemetery records by Parish.
- African American Cemeteries ~ listing by county
- Union Parish Louisiana Census Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.
- Churches of Union County, Louisiana (Genealogy Trails)
- Union Parish, Louisiana, Church Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Union Parish, Louisiana, General Court Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Slave Records and Deeds, Union Parish, Louisiana (Genealogy Trails)
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.
- Union Parish, Louisiana, Land Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Union Parish, Louisiana, Land (LAGenWeb Project)
Local histories are available for Union Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.
- Old Union Parish Louisiana Letters (USGenWeb Archives)
- General Union Parish History (USGenWeb Archives)
- Maps of Louisiana (1805-1990)
- Family Maps of Union Parish, Louisiana (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Union Parish Military Records (LAGenWeb Project)
- Union Parish, Louoisiana, Military Records (USGenWeb Archives)
War of 1812
- 1883 - List of Pensioners on the Rolls as of January 1, 1883, Union Parish, Louisiana (Genealogy Trails)
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1898-1950 - Louisiana Confederate Pensions, 1898-1950 at FamilySearch — images
World War I
World War II
- 1940-1945 - Louisiana First Registration Draft Cards, compiled 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Honor List of Dead and Missing Army & Army Air Forces Personnel, Union Parish, Louisiana (Genealogy Trails)
- Banner - newspaper of Bernice, LA. Approximately 90 issues from 2006-2009 freel available online via Google News Archive
- Pre-1930 - Known pre-1930 Union Parish Louisiana Newspapers
- Union Parish, Louisiana, Newspapers (USGenWeb Archives)
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Union Parish, Louisiana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Union Parish Obituaries and Death Notices (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to Union Parish Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the Union Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.
See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.
Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Records
- 1756-1984 - Louisiana Wills and Probate Records 1756-1984 at Ancestry.com Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1839-1950's - Index to 1839 – 1950s Union Parish Transcribed Successions (USGenWeb Archives)
Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.
Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.
- Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
- Union Parish, Louisiana, Vital Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Union Parish, Louisiana, Birth Records (Genealogy Trails)
- 1837-1957 - Louisiana, Parish Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Index to Union Parish, Louisiana, Marriage Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Union Parish, Louisiana, Marriage Records (Genealogy Trails)
- Union Parish, Louisiana, Marriage Announcements (Genealogy Trails)
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Union Parish, LA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Union Parish, LAGenWeb Project, part of the USGenWeb Project
- Union Parish, Louisiana, USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Union Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Union Parish, Louisiana, Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
- Union Parish LA Genealogy (LDS Genealogy)
- Wikipedia contributors, "Union Parish, Louisiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Union_Parish,_Louisiana."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Union Parish, Louisiana. Page 289-293 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 267-268.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., Union Parish, Louisiana p 293 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).