Union County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Mississippi
Union County

Guide to Union County, Mississippi ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: New Albany
Organized: 7 July 1870
Parent County(s): Pontotoc and Tippah[1]
Neighboring Counties
Benton  • Lafayette  • Lee  • Marshall  • Pontotoc  • Prentiss  • Tippah
See County Maps
Courthouse
MississippiUnionCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Union County.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

This county was named for the reunion of Mississippi and the other Confederate states after the Civil War. Union County is located in the northern area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Union County Courthouse
109 Main St E
P.O. Box 847
New Albany, MS 38652-0000
Phone: 662-534-1900
Union County Website

Clerk Chancery Court has divorce, probate and court records.
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records.[3]

Union County, Mississippi Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1 Nov 1912 1878 1 Nov 1912 Unknown 1872 mid 1800s 1810
Statewide registration started in Nov 1912 for births and deaths. General compliance by 1921.

Record Loss

1882 Some records were lost.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1870 Union County was created 7 July 1870 from Pontotoc and Tippah Counties.
  • County seat: New Albany[5]

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Union County, Mississippi:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Union County, Mississippi online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Union County census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Union County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Marshall CountyBenton CountyTippah CountyPrentiss CountyLee CountyPontotoc CountyLafayette CountyMS UNION.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War Battle was fought in Union County

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Union County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Union County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

  • Mississippi Dept of Archives and History
    P.O. Box 571
    200 North Street
    Jackson, MS 39205
    Phone 601-576-6876
    Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Union County Historical Society
    114 Cleveland St
    New Albany, MS 38652-4050
  • Northeast Mississippi Historical and Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 434
    Tupelo, MS 38801

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Union, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Union_County,_Mississippi."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Union County, Mississippi . Page 378-384 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 379-381.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Heritage Preservation Services Civil War Battle Summaries by State(accessed 2 Aug 2012
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at [https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/f/f2/Igimississippip.pdf.