Union County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Arkansas
Union County
 

Guide to Union County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: El Dorado
Organized: November 2, 1829
Parent County(s): Hempstead and Clark[1]
Neighboring Counties
Ashley  • Bradley  • Calhoun  • Claiborne (LA)  • Columbia  • Morehouse (LA)  • Ouachita  • Union (LA)
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasUnionCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-union.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Union County Courthouse
101 N Washington
El Dorado, AR 71730
Phone: 870.864.1910
Union County Website

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1846;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records.[2]

Union County, Arkansas

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1847 1914* 1830 1830 1839
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1829--Union County was created 2 November 1829 from Hempstead and Clark Counties. 
  • County seat: El Dorado[4]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Union County, Arkansas:

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Union County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [5]

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Union, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

  • Probate Records 1839-1927 Union County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration bonds 1868-1923; Administration, executor and guardian bonds; wills 1845-1927; Letters of administration 1868-1924; Letters of guardianship 1869-1923; Probate records 1839-1889.

Land and Property Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Union County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

Click on a neighboring county to go to the wiki page.
Union CountyColumbia CountyNevada CountyOuachita CountyBradley CountyCalhoun CountyDrew CountyBossier ParishJackson ParishAshley CountyUnion ParishClark CountyLafayette CountyMorehouse ParishLincoln ParishOuachita ParishRichland ParishClaiborne ParishCleveland CountyWebster ParishARUnion.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Indian Wars

War of 1812

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Union County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 1st Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Colquitt's) (Confederate)
- 3rd Consolidated Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)[6]
- 6th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 8th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 19th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Dockery's) (Confederate)

Online Records

Korean War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Union County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Union County Genealogy Society
    Barton Library
    East 5th and North Jefferson Street
    El Dorado, Ar 71730

Websites

  • ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Ben Johnson, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=812&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 15, 2016), “Union County.”
  6. Calvin L. Collier, They'll do to tie to : the story of the Third Regiment, Arkansas Infantry, C.S.A. (Little Rock, Arkansas : Civil War Round Table Associates, 1988), p. 10. FHL Collection
  7. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.