To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Ulstein Parish, Møre og Romsdal, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ulstein, Norway)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Ulstein, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Ulstein Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Trondheim
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1675: Romsdal, 1675-1680: Nordfjord og Sunnmøre, 1680-1689: Bergenhus, 1689-1919: Romsdal
Fylke 1919-Present 1919-1935: Romsdal, 1935-: Møre og Romsdal
Region add here
Prestegjeld Ulstein
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Ulstein
Fogderi Søndmør
Sorenskriveri Søndre Søndmør
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Ulstein clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Ulstein and Hareid. The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1754-1933.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Ulstein: 1754-1847

Ulstein / Hareid: 1848-1939

Ulstein / Ulstein: 1848-1939

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666 The 1664-1666 census for Ulstein is kept with Herøy clerical district was kept by the parish priest and includes the parishes of Herøy, Rovde, Hareid, Ulstein, Sande and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Fogd og sorenskrivers manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 census for Ulstein clerical district was kept by the local civil authorities and includes the parishes of Ulstein, Hareid and are available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Folketelling 1 Feb 1801, Norge. The 1801 census for Ulstein clerical district includes the parishes of Ulstein and Hareid. It is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digital Archives.
  • Folketellingen 1845 for Ulstein prestegjeld (Møre og Romsdal).  The 1845 census for Ulstein clerical district includes the parishes of Ulstein and Hareid. It is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
  • Folketellingen for kongeriget Norge den 31te desember 1875. The 1875 census for Ulstein cleircal district includes the parishes of Ulstein and Hareid; and is available on microfilm at the Famiy History Library.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Bjåstad, Ingvard, Soga om Harieid of Ulstein, Ålesund : Utgjeve av Sogenemnda for Hareid og Ulstein, 1970-1985. A general history of Hareid and Ulstein and a genealogy of the people and their farms in Hareid and Ulstein in Møre og Romsdal county. FHL 948.h4 H2b Farm name indexes to volumes 3 thru 6 are found in the following links. File:948.35-H4 H2b v3 - ULSTEIN 3.pdf, File:948.35-H4 H2b v4 - ULSTEIN4.pdf, File:948.35-H4 H2b v5 - Ulstein-5.pdf, File:948.35-H4 H2b v6 - ULSTEIN 6.pdf

NOTE:  Volumes 3 and 4 pertain to Ulstein parish.  Volumes 5 and 6 pertain to Hareid parish.

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

28 Aasen

21 Botnen 26 Breivik

32 Dimmen indre 28 Dimmesund

8 Einehaugen 30 Ettesvaag

11 Fjelle 3 Flø indre

20 Garnes 22 Garshol 28 Gjerdet

19 Haaeim 38 Haakensholm 18 Haddal indre 23 Hasund 23 Hasundvaag 36 Hatløen lille 10 Holsekre 9 Hovset

27 Kleven 27 Klubbeneset 20 Kvalneset

29 Legene 34 Legene 12 Løset

13 Moldskred 17 Myrene

33 Noteneset

7 Osnes

15 Ringstad 4 Roppe 31 Røiren

25 Saunes 6 Skeide 5 Skokken 35 Spjøtøen 24 Strandebøen 10 Stølene 29 Sundgoten 14 Svoren

5 Ulstein

34 Vaage 39 Vattøen 8 Vik

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1689-1801: Probates are found in Sunnmøre judicial district.

1799-99: Probates are found in Søre Sunnmøre judicial district.

1707-1807: Clerical probates are found in Sunnmøre Deanery

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names