United States Virgin Islands Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to U.S. Virgin Islands ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records. See also Virgin Islands.

U.S. Virgin Islands Wiki Topics
Flag of the United States Virgin Islands.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Country Background
Local Research Resources

Country Information[edit | edit source]

The U.S. Virgin Islands is a group of islands in the Caribbean belonging to the United States. Formerly a colony of Denmark it was purchased by the United States on 31 March 1917 for 25 million dollars. Its nearest neighbors are Puerto Rico and the British Virgin Islands. The official language is English.[1]

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting Started with U.S. Virgin Islands Research

Links to articles on getting started with U.S. Virgin Islands research.

U.S. Virgin Islands Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in U.S. Virgin Islands research.

Ask the
Community

U.S. Virgin Islands Clickable Map[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the U.S. Virgin Islands.

US Virgin Islands admin divisions.png

Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]

Districts and sub-districts of the U.S. Virgin Islands
Districts St. Thomas St. John Saint Croix
Sub-districts
  1. Charlotte Amalie
  2. East End
  3. Northside
  4. Southside
  5. Tutu
  6. Water Island
  7. West End
  1. Central
  2. Coral Bay
  3. Cruz Bay
  4. East End
  1. Anna's Hope Village
  2. Christiansted
  3. East End
  4. Frederiksted
  5. Northcentral
  6. Northwest
  7. Sion Farm
  8. Southcentral
  9. Southwest


The United States purchased all the islands of the Danish West Indies from Denmark in 1917. They remain a territory of the United States.

FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "United States Virgin Islands," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/United_States_Virgin_Islands, accessed 20 April 2016.