Tyseley, Worcestershire Genealogy
Guide to Tyseley, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Tyseley (through time); A Vision of Britain through Time includes a large library of local statistics for administrative units. For the best overall sense of how the area containing Tyseley has changed, please see our redistricted information for the modern district of Birmingham.
First record Tisseleye 1327
Tyseley; Old English Tyssa's leah may mean 'Tyssa's forest clearing' and is first found recorded in the 1327 Lay Subsidy Rolls. 'Tyssa may be a personal name, although it is not recorded elsewhere. However, the name may possibly refer to Tiw, an Anglo-Saxon god of war, or to a person named after him. If this is the case, the name may indicate a rare late survival of paganism, or less likely a settlement founded earlier than the conversion to Christianity. The modern pronuncation, ties ley reflects the modern spelling; it would have been pronounced as tiss ley.
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth. History of Tyseley, in Birmingham and Worcestershire. Date accessed and adapted: 17 October 2013.
Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.