Tyresö Parish, Stockholm, Sweden Genealogy
Guide to Tyresö Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 History
- 2 Place Names
- 3 Collections
- 3.1 Census Records
- 3.2 Church Records
- 3.3 Military Records
- 3.4 Related Sources
- 3.5 Help Reading Swedish Records
- 3.6 Help Reading Old Handwriting
- 3.7 Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
- 3.8 References
The Tyresö estate has its origins in the 14th century. During the 17th century the estate was at its largest, and it covered nearly the entire current area of the municipality also Tyresö was an important industrial centre in the Stockholm region between the 16th and 19th centuries, thanks to the watermills that could be built on the streams between the lakes.
During the expansive phase from the 1950s onwards, the population of Tyresö has grown from about 5,000 to just over 44,000 at present.
|Tyresö Parish, Stockholm, Sweden Genealogy|
|Län||1636-1639 Uppsala, 1640-1647 Stockholm, 1648-1651 Uppsala, 1652-1653 Stockholm, 1654-1688 Uppsala, 1689-1719 Södermanland, 1720- Stockholm|
|Militär indelning||add here|
|NAD Ref Code||add here|
|National Archive SVAR||here?property=P5324 link|
|Swedish Wikipedia||here?lang=sv link|
|SCB Congregation map||here?property=P778 link|
|Open Street map||here?property=P625 link|
Bergholm, Brakhamar, Bollmora, Borgen, Brevik, Båthuset eller Spirudden,
Edensborg, Egnö, Ekholmen, Ektorp,
Fattighuset, Finborg, Fintorp, Flodmåssen, Forsby, Fårdala,
Gimmersta, Grindstugan, Grändahl, Gåsö, Gärdesstugan,
Henvik, Holländartorp, Häradsön,
Klockartorp, Krusboda, Kumla,
Lillmyra, Lillström, Lindal,
Morkärr, Myggdal, Mörkdal,
Njupkärr, Notholmen, Nyboda, Nyforrs, Nytorp, Näsby mellangård, Näsby norrgård, Näsby södergård, Näsebytorp, Näset,
Raksta, Rotvik, Rundemar,
Sisshammar, Skjälsätra, Skogsäng, Snickarstugan, Solberga, Stensjödal, Stormyra, Strand, Styfnäs, Svartbäcken,
Tegelbruket, Telegraphen, Tvintorp, Tyresö lilla, Tyresö Sätesgård, Tyresö Trädgård,
Uddby Båtmanstorp, Uddby Gård, Uddby qvarnar, Ullsberg, Ulriksdal,
Vinskänken, Vissvass, Vreten, Vättinge, Vättinge Stamp, Vättinge Valk,
Åfva, Åfva Båtmanstorp, Åfva Qvarn,
Öringe, Övinghamn Förteckning på Skrifte barn (Register of confirmed children), Förteckning på Inflyttade (Register of people moving in), Förteckning på Utflyttade (Register of people moving out ), På socknen skrefne (poor people listed in the parish).
To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.
- Surrounding Parishes
- Sweden Household Examination Records (Husförhörslängder)--explanation of this church record which is functionally the census of Sweden.
- Sweden Household Examination Books, 1880 - 1920, ($), index and images. Also on Ancestry.com, ($), Arkiv Digital ($), and SVAR at Riksarkivet.
Online Database Church Records
The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)
- Sweden, Stockholm Church Records, 1556-1939, index 1634-1860 at FamilySearch.
- MyHeritage.com ($),
- Ancestry.com ($),
- Arkiv Digital ($), and
- SVAR at Riksarkivet.
Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden
- These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:
Family History Library Records
Click Sweden, Stockholm Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Stockholm and then select your parish.
Help Reading Swedish Records
- You do not have to be fluent in Swedish to read these records! They have a limited vocabulary: mother, father, born, bride, groom, married, etc. The rest of the content will be names, dates, and places, which do not need translation.
- This Swedish Word List covers typical terms found in the records.
- Swedish Historical Dictionary Database, SHDD: This interactive dictionary allows you to enter a word in the search box and receive the translation.
- Feast Day Calendar (Moveable) and Feast Day Lists (Fixed and Moveable) will help you translate dates written in feast day form.
- Sweden surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.
- For help with reading the column headings found in more recent records, see Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings.
- Instructions, document examples, and translations are given for Reading Swedish Birth and Christening Records 1717, 1752, 1771, 1792, 1803, 1834, 1854.
Help Reading Old Handwriting
- Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records: (free, online lessons at FamilySearch):
Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
Tyresö parish, Husförhörslängd, 1839-1843, Ort register.
Riksarkivet. "Tyresö" Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). January 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/