Twyford, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Twyford, Berkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Berkshire
Berkshire Parishes
Twyford

Guide to Twyford, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Twyford, Berkshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amesbury; Charlton; Sonning
County Berkshire
Poor Law Union Wokingham
Registration District Wokingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1832
Bishop's Transcripts: 1847
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Reading
Diocese Pre-1836 - Salisbury; Post-1835 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Berkshire
Location of Archive
Berkshire Record Office

Parish History

TWYFORD, a chapelry, with a village, in Hurst parish, Berks; on the Great Western railway, at the junction of the branch to Henley, 5 miles ENE of Reading. [1]

Twyford is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Berkshire, created in 1848 from Hurst Ecclesiastical Parish. Additional descriptions of this parish are available online at Genuki.org.uk.

Resources

Civil Registration

Church Records

Twyford, Berkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BERK = Berkshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£).[2]
Twyford, Berkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BERK



Undefined
Non-Conformist Churches

Independent/Congregational

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Twyford in GENUKI

References

  1. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales. Date accessed: 3 October 2013.
  2. 'New Berkshire parish records published on findmypast.co.uk,', findmypast, accessed 28 January 2014.