Tversted Parish, Hjørring, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Tversted, Hjørring, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

History[edit | edit source]

Tversted parish also contained Sørig parish until Sørig became its own independent parish in 2010.[1]

Tversted Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Aalborg Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Tversted-Uggerby
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Aastrup
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Hjørring
Herred (district) Horns
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 4
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 4
1870 – Udskrivningskred /Lægd number 5/473
Gods (estate) Nørre Elkjær gods


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Hanne Vinter Henriksen has abstracted the parish records from 1688 until 1814. These can be accessed by clicking here.

Place Names[edit | edit source]

Altona

Bangsager, Barkholt Plantage, Bjerget, Blødegrøft

Degnbjerg, Diget, Donnerbjerg

Elkær Huse, Elkær Mark, Elkær Mose, Elkær Mølle, Ellebakke

Flodbæk, Fællesmose

Gammel Vaagholt, Gammelgaard, Gaardbo Sø, Gøgsig, Gøgsig Mark

Havegaard, Havehuset, Havgaard, Hedehave, Horsnab, Hvarrebakke, Hvarrerende, Hytten, Høngaard

Kirkeby, Klitstuen, Klitten, Kærholt

Lille Gøgsig, Lille Skovlund, Lille Tuen, Lille Vaagholt, Lynggaard, Lærkegaarden

Mellemklit, Mellemrimmer, Mosegaard, Moserende, Maagen, Mølbak

Nygaard, Nykær, Nørre Elkær, Nørre Horsnab, Nørre Tversted

Pindbakke, Porsdal

Ravklit, Rimmerne

Signesminde, Skovgaard, Skovlund, Skram, Slottet, Slynge, Sovkrog Bæk, Store Gøgsig, Storgaard, Søndenaaen, Søndermarke, Sørig, Sørig Enge, Sørig Enggaard, Sørig Mose

Tannisbo, Tannisby, Tannishus Fiskerleje, Terpet, Terpet Hede, Terpet Møllegaard, Terpetgaard, Toftegaard, Tranegaarden, Trynmose, Trynmosegaard, Trynaa, Tuen, Tuengaard, Tversted, Tversted Søer, Tversted Aa, Tversted Rimmer, Taagaard

Vadet, Varimgaard, Vejgaard, Vester Tversted, Vesterklit, Vibeslette, Volhøj, Vaagholt

Ødegaard, Østenkær, Østenkærgaard, Øster Tversted, Østerklit, Østerskov

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Hjørring amt: Bindslev, Mosbjerg, Råbjerg, Uggerby

Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records[edit | edit source]

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Genealogical Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Denmark Feast Day Calendars will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Personal Names.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections[edit | edit source]

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources[edit | edit source]



Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Denmark, Hjørring Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, Hjørring" and then select your parish.

References[edit | edit source]

- Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." <http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/>, Dec 2011.
- Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4th ed. Vol. 5, Hjørring, Thisted, Aalborg, Viborg og Randers Amter. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1901.

  1. Wikipedia Contributors. Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, "Sørig", https://nl.wikipedia.org/wiki/S%C3%B8rig, accessed 26 May 2020.