To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Tushingham, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Tushingham, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

TUSHINGHAM, with Grindley, a township, in the parish of Malpas, union of Nantwich, Higher division of the hundred of Broxton, S. division of the county of Chester, 3½ miles ESE from Malpas. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Tushingham Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Tushingham St Chad Parish (1824) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's    NONE
  NONE
  NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT's
1861-1872
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1861-1872
  NONE

Tushingham-cum-Grindley was founded in 1691 as a chapel to Malpas: St. Oswald, becoming a Parish church 1824.

 Here is a list of registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Bishop's transcripts, St. Chad's Church, Tushingham-cum-Grindley, Cheshire, 1861-1872 Cheshire Record Office no.: EDB 207

Bishops Transcripts: Tushingham-cum-Grindley
Film
Baptisms, 1861-1866, 1868-1869, burials, 1861-1866, 1868-1869, baptisms,burials, 1870, 1867, 1871-1872.
1647714 Item 6


Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Primitive Methodist

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration District[edit | edit source]

  • Nantwich (1837-53)
  • Whitchurch (1853-1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937-74)
  • Chester & Ellesmere Port (1974-98)
  • Cheshire West (1998-2007)
  • Cheshire (2007-09)
  • Cheshire West & Chester (2009+)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

  • Nantwich (1837-53)
  • Whitchurch (1853-1930)

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 401-404.Date accessed: 17 January 2014.


Bibliography[edit | edit source]


FamilySearch