To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Tuscaloosa County, Alabama Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Tuscaloosa County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Tuscaloosa
Organized: February 6, 1818
Parent County(s): Choctaw Cession[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bibb  • Fayette  • Greene  • Hale  • Jefferson  • Pickens  • Walker
See County Maps
Courthouse
Tuscaloosa County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Tuscaloosa County Alabama.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named in honor of the Choctaw chief Tuskalusa. [2]The county is located in the west-central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Tuscaloosa County Courthouse
714 Greensboro Avenue, 2nd Fl, #214
Tuscaloosa, AL 35401
Phone: 205-349-3870
Tuscaloosa County Website

Probate Judge has marriage and probate records from 1823 [4]

Tuscaloosa County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate Census
1880 1823 1880 1823 1823 1823 1816
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1908. General compliance for births by 1927 and for deaths 1925.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Tuscaloosa County has had damaging tornadoes but there has been no known loss of records.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1818 Tuscaloosa County was created 6 February 1818 from the Cherokee and Choctaw Cession of 1816.
  • County seat: Tuscaloosa[6]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Tuscaloosa County:[7]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator.

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
  • Dunns
  • Friersons
  • Hassell
  • Hickmans
  • Holt
  • Hughes
  • Jones
  • Kennedale
  • Marcomville
  • McDuff (Dobbs)
  • McMath
  • Mitchels
  • Mulenax
  • Parsons
  • Reese
  • Rickey
  • Smallwood
  • Smiths
  • Whitson
Ghost towns


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Tuscaloosa, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Tuscaloosa county cemeteries.

  • Interment.net Alabama cemetery records by county.
  • Additional Tuscaloosa County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1 at FamilySearch Digital Library

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Tuscaloosa County census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18208,229
183013,64665.8%
184016,58321.5%
185018,0568.9%
186023,20028.5%
187020,081−13.4%
188024,95724.3%
189030,35221.6%
190036,14719.1%
191047,55931.6%
192053,68012.9%
193064,15319.5%
194076,03618.5%
195094,09223.7%
1960109,04715.9%
1970116,0296.4%
1980137,54118.5%
1990150,5229.4%
2000164,8759.5%
2010194,65618.1%
Est. 2011197,21119.6%

State Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

The Tuscaloosa Genealogical Society has been involved in a long-term project to preserve and digitize 19th Century Circuit Court records. Books dating from 1822 and loose records dating mostly from the 1870s to 1950s are added monthly to website. Indexes are also included on the site, website

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

  • Sellers, James B. Free Negroes of Tuscaloosa County Before the Thirteenth Amendment. Alabama Review. 23 April 1970: 110-27.
  • Sellers, James B.Slavery in Alabama. University, Alabama: University of Alabama Press, 1950. FHL CollectionWorldCat

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Tuscaloosa County see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Tuscaloosa County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2006. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes surname index. FHL Book 976.184 E7b.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Tuscaloosa County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

FayetteWalkerJeffersonBibbHaleGreenePickensAL TUSCALOOSA.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Regiments. Men in Tuscaloosa County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Tuscaloosa County:

- 2nd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company D
- 5th Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company B
- 5th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H "Warrior Guards"
- 11th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G "North Port Rifles"
- 18th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E (Confederate Stars)
- 20th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K
- 32nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I
- 36th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D and K
- 41st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A, F and G
- 43rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D, H, I and K
- 50th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F, formerly Company D, 2nd Battalion
- 51st Regiment, Alabama Partisan Rangers, Company G


World War I


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Alabama Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both and pay-to-access websites.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Tuscaloosa County is in District 2.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.


Tuscaloosa Alabama Family History Center
2015 N 3rd Ave
Tuscaloosa, Alabama 35406
205-758-4820
Website

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Tuscaloosa Library
1801 Jack Warner Parkway
Tuscaloosa, Alabama 35401
205-345-5820
Website

Library collections include materials of local, state, and regional history as well as microfilms of the Tuscaloosa News. Limited research requests are honored; copy fees apply.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Tuscaloosa Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 020802
Tuscaloosa, Alabama 35401
Facebook
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, "Tuscaloosa County, Alabama Genealogy and History", http://genealogytrails.com/ala/tuscaloosa/ 6/27/2017.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Tuscaloosa, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tuscaloosa_County,_Alabama 6/27/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Tuscaloosa County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tuscaloosa_County,_Alabama, accessed 28 October 2018.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Igialabamatz.pdf.
  9. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/4/4d/Igialabamatz.pdf.