Turweston, Buckinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Turweston, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Turweston, Buckinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Buckingham
County Buckinghamshire
Poor Law Union Brackley
Registration District Brackley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1695
Bishop's Transcripts: 1575
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Buckingham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Buckinghamshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

TURWESTON, a parish in the district of Brackley and county of Buckingham; 1½ mile ENE of Brackley r. station. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Turweston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
TURWESTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1699-1837


JOIN

1699-1837


PRTS

1699-1837


Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

None

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Turweston on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-2 Date accessed and adapted 11 July 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  3. 'Buckinghamshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 28 January 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.