Turnditch, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Turnditch, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Turnditch All Saints Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Belper|
|Parish registers: 1813|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1783|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Turnditch is a chapelry in Duffield, Derbyshire. An ancient Parish, 4 miles (W. by S.) from Belper. Here are places of worship for Baptists and Primitive Methodists.
TURNDITCH, a chapelry, in the parish of Duffield, union of Belper, hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 4 miles (W. by S.) from Belper. Here are places of worship for Baptists and Primitive Methodists.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Turnditch parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Turnditch All Saints (1783) Parish Online Records|
Turnditch All Saints was originally a chapelry in Duffield, Derbyshire parish. Th church was licensed for baptisms in 1783 and the churchyard consecrated for burial in 1846. It was formed as a parish in 1847 and included the township of Shottle until 1856-1861. In 1922 Wundley was transferred from Duffield, Derbyshire parish
Derbyshire Record Office reference D 2645 has deposited registers Bap 1813-1906 Marr 1847-1981 Burials 1846-1981 Banns 1847-1965. These records, together with baptisms 1784-1786 and miscellaneous papers 1845-1857 are available on microfilm through the Family History Library1.
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1783-1858 Mar 1783-1858 Burials 1783-1858. The Bishop's Transcripts (with gaps in Baptisms for 1825 and 1832-1844, gaps in burials 1811-1845, and gaps in marriages 1811-1846) are also available on microfilm through the Family History Library2.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Primitive Methodist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Turnditch on GENUKI