Turkmenistan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Turkmenistan)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Turkmenistan ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Turkmenistan Wiki Topics
Flag of Turkmenistan.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Turkmenistan Background
Local Research Resources

Country Information[edit | edit source]

Turkmenistan is a country in Asia bordered by Iran and Kazakhstan. Eastern Turkmenistan for centuries formed part of the Persian province of Khurasan. Turkmenistan was annexed by Russia between 1865 and 1885 and was governed by the Soviet Union from 1924 to 1991. The official language is Turkmen.[1]

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting Started with Turkmenistan Research

Links to articles on getting started with Turkmenistan research.

Turkmenistan Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Turkmenistan research.

Turkmenistan Map[edit | edit source]

  1. Ahal Province
  2. Balkan Province
  3. Daşoguz Province
  4. Lebap Province
  5. Mary Province

240px-TurkmenistanNumbered.png

Provinces[edit | edit source]

  • Ahal Province
  • Balkan Province
  • Daşoguz Province
  • Lebap Province
  • Mary Province

FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Turkmenistan," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turkmenistan, accessed 20 April 2016.