Tunstall near Catterick, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Yorkshire
Yorkshire Parishes S-Y
East Riding of Yorkshire
Tunstall near Catterick

Guide to Tunstall (near Catterick), Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tunstall near Catterick, Yorkshire
Tunstall Holy Trinity Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Gilling; East Hang; West Hang
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Richmond
Registration District Patrington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1616
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Catterick
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Catterick
Prerogative Court Prerogative Court of York and the Prerogative Court of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History

TUNSTALL, a chapelry in Catterick parish, North Yorkshire; 3 miles South of Catterick Bridge railway station. The church was built in 1847. There is a Wesleyan chapel and a...school." [1]


The ancient parish (AP) of Catterick was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1568.

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Resources

Civil Registration

Tunstall (near Patrington) is located under the Civil Registration District of Patrington. Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. Two popular sites are:

1) FreeBMD

2) GRO (General Register Office)

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Tunstall does not exist at the present time:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
TUNSTALL CHAPELRY (1847) Online Records - see also Catterick Parish

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS None

None

None

JOIN None
None
None
AC None
None
None


For a full list of all those parishes and chapels surrounding Tunstall Chapelry and comprising the whole ancient parish of Catterick to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Catterick page.
The parish (chapelry) registers for Tunstall near Catterick are found at the County Record Office. The Bishop's transcripts are usually located at the Borthwick Institute for Archives (see Wiki page for this archive).

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Richmond Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Tunstall Chapelry (a chapel of ease in Catterick Parish) is located in the probate court jurisdiction called Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Catterick. These probate records are located at the West Yorkshire Record Office. Here's their contact information:

Email: leeds@wyjs.org.uk

Telephone: +44 (0)113 3939788

Postal Address:

West Yorkshire Archive Service

West Yorkshire Joint Services

Nepshaw Lane South

Morley

Leeds, LS27 7JQ

United Kingdom

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the additional courts having primary jurisdiction over Tunstall and Catterick. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales(1870), pp. 972. Adapted. Date accessed: 14 February 2017.