Tunstall, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Tunstall, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Tunstall, Yorkshire
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Gilling; East Hang; West Hang
County Yorkshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Richmond
Registration District Bedale; Northallerton; Richmond
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Succentor Canonicorum of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

TUNSTALL (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Patrington, Middle division of the wapentake of Holderness, East Riding of York, 5½ miles N from Patrington. This place is of considerable antiquity, a church existing here in 1115, when Stephen, Earl of Albemarle, gave the church and tithes of Tunstall to the abbey of St. Martin.[1]

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Tunstall Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-East Riding
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Parish Registers - FamilySearch Catalog
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-East Riding ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Find My Past Bishop's Transcripts-East Riding ($)
-
-
1600s-1800s
-
1600-1800s
-
Find My Past Banns-East Riding ($)
-
-
1500s-1900s
-
-
-
Find My Past Marriage Licences-East Riding ($)
-
-
-
1600s-1800s
-
-
Ancestry Marriage Bonds-East Riding ($)
-
-
Archdeaconry of Richmond, England, Church of England Marriage Bonds, 1611-1861 1600s-1800s
-
-
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1700s-1800s

Other Websites These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

  • Patrington Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Tunstall Parish comes under the probate court jurisdiction of Court of the Peculiar of the Succentor Canonicorum of York. These probate records are available at The Borthwick Institute for Archives. Here is their contact information:

Email: borthwick-institute@york.ac.uk

Postal address:

Borthwick Institute for Archives University of York Heslington York YO10 5DD UK Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name[s] of additional court jurisdictions for the parish of Tunstall. The above court holds primary jurisdiction and should be searched, first. Scroll down in the article on "Yorkshire Probate Records" to the section "Court Jurisdictions by Parish" for the other courts.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 398-401. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.